Getting started at Westbridge Hills

Griphos

Getting started at Westbridge Hills

Post by Griphos »

I'm new to farming. :-)

I've found a lot of helpful guides out there, what to consider in terms of equipment and how to develop the farm in productive ways. I can't really find anything on Westbridge with the same sort of advice, such as what equipment to sell and what to buy when starting out to do a better job and be more efficient (except for FarmerJeff's Westbridge Diaries on this forum).

For instance, I'm harvesting the wheat, but there's all this straw left on the field and no way I can see with current equipment to turn it into something useful.

Anyone know of any such guide about getting started in this farming business tuned to Westbridge? I'd prefer to use the American machinery that comes in the Titanium pack rather than the European machinery (I suppose for realism's sake), but I'm not averse to using appropriate mods with the right sort of equipment.

Thanks.
tater salad

Re: Getting started at Westbridge Hills

Post by tater salad »

Since you are just starting out, the cheapest way to collect the straw would be a small forage wagon. Going the baling route requires more equipment and investment.

http://www.farming-simulator.com/mod.ph ... mod_id=211

http://fs-uk.com/mods/view/28189

http://fs-uk.com/mods/view/30392

The basic strategies when starting out are pretty much the same on any map. What is the "best" way to proceed could be debated ad nauseum. It really comes down to personal preference.

How much acreage do you own? What equipment to you absolutely need to work that acreage? What are the daily costs of your starting tractors? Can you sell off all but one tractor when starting out?

I would advise not relying too heavily on guides/strategies written by others. If you look at them as suggestions, that is fine. If you follow them to the letter, you are playing someone else's game.