GIANTS Game Engine Has Stopped Working

XxClaypoolxX
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:33 pm

GIANTS Game Engine Has Stopped Working

Post by XxClaypoolxX » Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:41 pm

Hello all,

Purchased the game from Steam, downloaded fine and all that. The first time (and every time since) I've tried to open the game the only thing I get is my screen resolution changes from 1600x900 to 1024x768 and an error box reading "GIANTS Game Engine Has Stopped Working" is all I get. I thought paying $10 for this game was a great deal! But I could have played "Ctrl + Alt + Dlt" the game for free, so any help right now would be totally killer! Below are the DXDiag specs for my laptop:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7CPU Q 720 @ 1.6GHz (8 CPUs), ~1.6GHz
6144 MB RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Driver Date: 12-17-2009 (I've looked for a new one, but just can't seem to get any to work/download, not too tech savy!)
Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Driver Date: 11-10-2009

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks to all in advance!

User avatar
bassaddict
GIANTS Software | Web/Script Programmer
Posts: 11974
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:44 pm
Location: ER, DE

Re: GIANTS Game Engine Has Stopped Working

Post by bassaddict » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:16 pm

Have you assigned the dedicated GPU to the game? If not, it's probably using the integrated GPU (from the CPU), which is not good enough to run 3D games.

XxClaypoolxX
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:33 pm

Re: GIANTS Game Engine Has Stopped Working

Post by XxClaypoolxX » Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:53 am

Took me a bit to figure it out but that certainly seemed to help.

Thanks a ton for the quick fix man!

Post Reply