One step closer to a new PC ...

User avatar
thunderhawk
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:02 am

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by thunderhawk » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:09 pm

Gnasher3i6 wrote:
W1der wrote: I am also trying to make a decision regarding a 27" screen ...
Would I need "G-sync" or not!?
I have been using my pc on a 52" screen for ages, Looks perfectly fine with Vsync on/off.
I would say you don't need G-sync, If you have not used it before, It's not something you will miss.
agreed my system is running through a sanyo 50" tv and works fine and my 660ti gets a benchmark of avg 113 fps
Dell XPS 720 Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme 3.0ghz
Liquid cooled with a 120mm x 240mm radiator twin 120mm cooler master SickleFlow fans
Nvidia GTX 660ti
Patch 1.4.4 Windows 7 home
Playing through a Sanyo 50" tv

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:39 pm

thunderhawk wrote:
Gnasher3i6 wrote:
W1der wrote: I am also trying to make a decision regarding a 27" screen ...
Would I need "G-sync" or not!?
I have been using my pc on a 52" screen for ages, Looks perfectly fine with Vsync on/off.
I would say you don't need G-sync, If you have not used it before, It's not something you will miss.
agreed my system is running through a sanyo 50" tv and works fine and my 660ti gets a benchmark of avg 113 fps
I think the benchmark test is a bit "vague" ...
The amount of vehicles in that "clip" is no where near of what you have in a game after playing +100 hours on the same map ... :this:
Add all the placeables and bales etc to that ...

There should be a "hard core" benchmark also ... :mrgreen:
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

User avatar
thunderhawk
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:02 am

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by thunderhawk » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:58 pm

W1der wrote:
thunderhawk wrote:
Gnasher3i6 wrote: I have been using my pc on a 52" screen for ages, Looks perfectly fine with Vsync on/off.
I would say you don't need G-sync, If you have not used it before, It's not something you will miss.
agreed my system is running through a sanyo 50" tv and works fine and my 660ti gets a benchmark of avg 113 fps
I think the benchmark test is a bit "vague" ...
The amount of vehicles in that "clip" is no where near of what you have in a game after playing +100 hours on the same map ... :this:
Add all the placeables and bales etc to that ...

There should be a "hard core" benchmark also ... :mrgreen:
yeah you should be able to run a benchmark test within your own map with your current Equipment to get a accurate score
Dell XPS 720 Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme 3.0ghz
Liquid cooled with a 120mm x 240mm radiator twin 120mm cooler master SickleFlow fans
Nvidia GTX 660ti
Patch 1.4.4 Windows 7 home
Playing through a Sanyo 50" tv

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:12 pm

thunderhawk wrote:
W1der wrote:
thunderhawk wrote: agreed my system is running through a sanyo 50" tv and works fine and my 660ti gets a benchmark of avg 113 fps
I think the benchmark test is a bit "vague" ...
The amount of vehicles in that "clip" is no where near of what you have in a game after playing +100 hours on the same map ... :this:
Add all the placeables and bales etc to that ...

There should be a "hard core" benchmark also ... :mrgreen:
yeah you should be able to run a benchmark test within your own map with your current Equipment to get a accurate score
We are a bit off topic now ... but this is my topic ... so I guess it´s OK ... :mrgreen:

I have been thinking, if it would be possible to get a feature, in the developers tools, that shows you how much "stress" each object in the game is causing ...
Something similar to a "thermal camera" ... to detect areas in your map that is suffering from "over load" ... :hmm:
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 5371
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Erde

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by don_apple » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:18 pm

The purpose of a benchmark is to be able to compare different hardware configurations with each other and not how a certain system performs with a a mod map and a certain set of equipment. To find out how the game runs with a certain set of mods you just simply run it with those mods :smileynew:
I have been thinking, if it would be possible to get a feature, in the developers tools, that shows you how much "stress" each object in the game is causing ...
Something similar to a "thermal camera" ... to detect areas in your map that is suffering from "over load" ... :hmm:
This already exists in the game. If you have the "development controls" activated and press the 'F8' key your get an overview on how much Objects are currently in view, how much RAM and VRAM is used, etc. These numbers are updated in realtime, so by moving around the map you'll get a pretty good overview where areas are that can cause performance problems.
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
Wo findet man den FarmingSimulator Ordner / Where to find the FarmingSimulator folder log.txt Image Server Forenregeln/Board rules

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:43 pm

don_apple wrote:
W1der wrote:I have been thinking, if it would be possible to get a feature, in the developers tools, that shows you how much "stress" each object in the game is causing ...
Something similar to a "thermal camera" ... to detect areas in your map that is suffering from "over load" ... :hmm:
This already exists in the game. If you have the "development controls" activated and press the 'F8' key your get an overview on how much Objects are currently in view, how much RAM and VRAM is used, etc. These numbers are updated in realtime, so by moving around the map you'll get a pretty good overview where areas are that can cause performance problems.
OK ... I need to test this to see how it look ... *thumbsup*
Up till now I have been looking at the FPS and if it drops in an area I have been moving equipment, vehicles, bales or even taken down trees to get a better FPS.

Edit don_apple: fixed quoting
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:03 pm

Update ...
I just placed an order :mrgreen:

Code: Select all

AOC 27" LED FreeSync G2770PF
1920x1080, 144hz, 1ms, Speakers, Pivot, VGA/DVI/HDMI/DP,
		
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C Midi Tower
Black, Fans: 1x140mm front, 1x120mm back. ATX/mATX, mITX

Corsair CX650M, 650W PSU
ATX 12V v2.4, 80 Plus Bronze, Semi Modular, 4x 6+2-pin PCIe, 6x SATA		

Akasa AK-959CU Komplett Edition
CPU Cooler, LGA 1150/1155/1156, 115W, PWM

Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake Processor
Socket-LGA1151, Quad Core 4.0GHz, 8MB, 91W, 14nm, Tray, u/cooler
			
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING, Socket-1151
Mainboard, ATX,Z170,DDR4,3xPCIe-x16,SLI/CFX, SupremeFX, GameFirst III
	
Kingston ValueRam DDR4 2133MHz 32GB
2x16GB 2133MHz (PC4-17000) DDR4 CL15 2Rx8

ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 DUAL OC
GPU, PCI-Express 3.0, 8GB GDDR5, DL-DVI-D, 2x HDMI 2.0, 2x DisplayPort
			
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB 2.5" SSD
SATA 6GB/s, 540/520MB/s

Seagate Barracuda 1TB
SATA 6GB/s (SATA 3.0), 64MB Cache, 7200RPM, 3.5"	

MS COA Win 10 Home Nordic
Hopefully I also get my Saitek wheel replaced by the time I get the PC ... :neutralnew:

EDIT:
OMG ... I just realized I made a huge misstake!!!
That screen is only 1080p ... :shock:
I wonder if I can live with that !?
Last edited by W1der on Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

JohnDeere318
Posts: 6840
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by JohnDeere318 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:04 pm

1080P!!! I don't even use HDMI, so it will be fine. :lol:
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer:

How to post your log.txt

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:07 pm

JohnDeere318 wrote:1080P!!! I don't even use HDMI, so it will be fine. :lol:
I´m used to playing this at 2560x1440 ... :hmm:

Edit:
Oh ... I just double checked ... my setting was actually 2048x1152.
Maybe not that huge difference ...

And with this PC I can probably set all the other graphic settings to the maximum ... so I might not be able to tell the difference!?
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:29 pm

I just tried FS15 at 1080p (on my iMac) and it looked "OK".

Would any one know if 1080p looks "the same" on a 5K screen as it does on a "native" 1080P screen?
If it does ... I´m good with that (as long as I am not able to compare it anyways I guess) ... :hmm:

I have not been this "nervous" for as long as I can remember ... :blushnew:
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

JohnDeere318
Posts: 6840
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by JohnDeere318 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:55 pm

W1der wrote:I just tried FS15 at 1080p (on my iMac) and it looked "OK".

Would any one know if 1080p looks "the same" on a 5K screen as it does on a "native" 1080P screen?
If it does ... I´m good with that (as long as I am not able to compare it anyways I guess) ... :hmm:

I have not been this "nervous" for as long as I can remember ... :blushnew:
I do not know that for sure, I wonder if it is any better. :hmm: Good question.
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer:

How to post your log.txt

JohnDeere318
Posts: 6840
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by JohnDeere318 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:56 pm

W1der wrote:
JohnDeere318 wrote:1080P!!! I don't even use HDMI, so it will be fine. :lol:
I´m used to playing this at 2560x1440 ... :hmm:

Edit:
Oh ... I just double checked ... my setting was actually 2048x1152.
Maybe not that huge difference ...

And with this PC I can probably set all the other graphic settings to the maximum ... so I might not be able to tell the difference!?
Setting the stuff on max graphics is so awesome! But I use DVI-D for my gaming rig. Just got a new monitor a couple weeks ago, finally moving away from VGA. :lol: Plus, my GPU can't really do Max everything without frame loss happening.

24 inch Acer K242HL w/o HDMI for $150... Not too shabby...
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer:

How to post your log.txt

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by W1der » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:04 pm

JohnDeere318 wrote:
W1der wrote:
JohnDeere318 wrote:1080P!!! I don't even use HDMI, so it will be fine. :lol:
I´m used to playing this at 2560x1440 ... :hmm:

Edit:
Oh ... I just double checked ... my setting was actually 2048x1152.
Maybe not that huge difference ...

And with this PC I can probably set all the other graphic settings to the maximum ... so I might not be able to tell the difference!?
Setting the stuff on max graphics is so awesome! But I use DVI-D for my gaming rig. Just got a new monitor a couple weeks ago, finally moving away from VGA. :lol: Plus, my GPU can't really do Max everything without frame loss happening.

24 inch Acer K242HL w/o HDMI for $150... Not too shabby...
Well ... 1080p would look better on a 24" screen than on a 27" screen anyways ... :hmm:
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

JohnDeere318
Posts: 6840
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by JohnDeere318 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:08 pm

W1der wrote:
JohnDeere318 wrote:
W1der wrote: I´m used to playing this at 2560x1440 ... :hmm:

Edit:
Oh ... I just double checked ... my setting was actually 2048x1152.
Maybe not that huge difference ...

And with this PC I can probably set all the other graphic settings to the maximum ... so I might not be able to tell the difference!?
Setting the stuff on max graphics is so awesome! But I use DVI-D for my gaming rig. Just got a new monitor a couple weeks ago, finally moving away from VGA. :lol: Plus, my GPU can't really do Max everything without frame loss happening.

24 inch Acer K242HL w/o HDMI for $150... Not too shabby...
Well ... 1080p would look better on a 24" screen than on a 27" screen anyways ... :hmm:
Yes I have noticed that. My old 19" TV that I had (never used it for gaming or as a monitor, even though it had a VGA), the HDMI was so clear and crisp. But, the higher you go up, the worse it seems to get. For me, 24 inch is big enough, I would love to get one or two 27" monitors sometime. With HDMI of course. ;)
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer:

How to post your log.txt

User avatar
thunderhawk
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:02 am

Re: One step closer to a new PC ...

Post by thunderhawk » Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:36 am

JohnDeere318 wrote:
W1der wrote:
JohnDeere318 wrote: Setting the stuff on max graphics is so awesome! But I use DVI-D for my gaming rig. Just got a new monitor a couple weeks ago, finally moving away from VGA. :lol: Plus, my GPU can't really do Max everything without frame loss happening.

24 inch Acer K242HL w/o HDMI for $150... Not too shabby...
Well ... 1080p would look better on a 24" screen than on a 27" screen anyways ... :hmm:
Yes I have noticed that. My old 19" TV that I had (never used it for gaming or as a monitor, even though it had a VGA), the HDMI was so clear and crisp. But, the higher you go up, the worse it seems to get. For me, 24 inch is big enough, I would love to get one or two 27" monitors sometime. With HDMI of course. ;)
My question is why are you talking about running monitors on hdmi heck just go to a tv I'm running my computer through my 50" sanyo tv on HDMI with wonderful picture at 1920x1080 that's just my preferred setting
Dell XPS 720 Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme 3.0ghz
Liquid cooled with a 120mm x 240mm radiator twin 120mm cooler master SickleFlow fans
Nvidia GTX 660ti
Patch 1.4.4 Windows 7 home
Playing through a Sanyo 50" tv

Post Reply