GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby JohnDeere318 » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:20 pm

:hi:

I am thinking about upgrading my GPU maybe in this weekend or the week Farming Simulator 17 comes out. Does this look like a good card? I have got a $200 budget and that is it.

MSI Gaming X AMD Radeon RX 470 4GB: https://www.amazon.com/MSI-RADEON-470-G ... eon+rx+470

So... What do you guys think? I have looked up and my parts are compatible with the card, just if this is a good choice or not.

Thanks! :smileynew:
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.

User avatar
b101uk
Posts: 808
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: UK

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby b101uk » Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:26 am

I would wait until after FS17 is out, you can then get more genuine feedback from people as well as gauge yourself based on what your Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti 2GB is performing like in FS17.
plays FS15/FS17 on PC
:zunge:

Stegei
GIANTS Software | CTO
Posts: 1231
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:51 am

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby Stegei » Wed Oct 12, 2016 10:35 am

I have an RX 480 and I can easily run FS17 on Very High with 4x MSAA and FullHD with about 150 FPS. Based on the stats and the generic benchmarks I've seen of the RX 470, I would say it should be able to run FS17 on Very High too. The 4GB VRam are not the 8GB of my 480, but FS17 base will run just fine with 4GB as well, it will even have plenty of space for mods too. Also I don't think it is worth the extra money for the 8GB version of the 470, the performance-vram ratio just won't match anymore, at least as long as you're playing FS17.

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby JohnDeere318 » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:10 pm

Stegei wrote:I have an RX 480 and I can easily run FS17 on Very High with 4x MSAA and FullHD with about 150 FPS. Based on the stats and the generic benchmarks I've seen of the RX 470, I would say it should be able to run FS17 on Very High too. The 4GB VRam are not the 8GB of my 480, but FS17 base will run just fine with 4GB as well, it will even have plenty of space for mods too. Also I don't think it is worth the extra money for the 8GB version of the 470, the performance-vram ratio just won't match anymore, at least as long as you're playing FS17.

That's great news that you are running one of these cards! This is just what I am looking for!

Thanks to both of you! I will try out my 750 Ti first and then see if I need the card. I most likely will because Sosnovka lags a tiny bit a little distance away from farm and when I have more vehicles it will lag to about 45-50 FPS and that bothers me, so that's why I want to upgrade. Plus, for $200 and it is almost the same as GTX 970, instead of paying $220+ for a GTX 960 and $340+ for a GTX 970.
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.

NowHeresRoy
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:34 pm

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby NowHeresRoy » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:16 pm

Stegei wrote:I have an RX 480 and I can easily run FS17 on Very High with 4x MSAA and FullHD with about 150 FPS. Based on the stats and the generic benchmarks I've seen of the RX 470, I would say it should be able to run FS17 on Very High too. The 4GB VRam are not the 8GB of my 480, but FS17 base will run just fine with 4GB as well, it will even have plenty of space for mods too. Also I don't think it is worth the extra money for the 8GB version of the 470, the performance-vram ratio just won't match anymore, at least as long as you're playing FS17.

This is what I love about GIANTS, they not only listen to the community on suggestions and features but take the time to share information and help. I think they have a lot of great people working for them and I'm happy to spend my money on their products. Thanks GIANTS, for another great game and for your dedication to the consumer. God bless!
PC User
TEXAS USA
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby JohnDeere318 » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm

NowHeresRoy wrote:
Stegei wrote:I have an RX 480 and I can easily run FS17 on Very High with 4x MSAA and FullHD with about 150 FPS. Based on the stats and the generic benchmarks I've seen of the RX 470, I would say it should be able to run FS17 on Very High too. The 4GB VRam are not the 8GB of my 480, but FS17 base will run just fine with 4GB as well, it will even have plenty of space for mods too. Also I don't think it is worth the extra money for the 8GB version of the 470, the performance-vram ratio just won't match anymore, at least as long as you're playing FS17.

This is what I love about GIANTS, they not only listen to the community on suggestions and features but take the time to share information and help. I think they have a lot of great people working for them and I'm happy to spend my money on their products. Thanks GIANTS, for another great game and for your dedication to the consumer. God bless!

I couldn't agree more! *thumbsup*
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: GPU Upgrade Time!!! :D

Postby JohnDeere318 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:05 pm

Stegei wrote:I have an RX 480 and I can easily run FS17 on Very High with 4x MSAA and FullHD with about 150 FPS. Based on the stats and the generic benchmarks I've seen of the RX 470, I would say it should be able to run FS17 on Very High too. The 4GB VRam are not the 8GB of my 480, but FS17 base will run just fine with 4GB as well, it will even have plenty of space for mods too. Also I don't think it is worth the extra money for the 8GB version of the 470, the performance-vram ratio just won't match anymore, at least as long as you're playing FS17.

Do you mind if I ask what CPU you have? :)
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.


Return to “[EN-FS15]Off-topic”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest