Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby JohnDeere318 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:56 am

:hi:

I just wondered if Farm Sim was GPU centered or CPU centered. I know some game are more CPU centered and some are more GPU centered and I just wondered where Farm Sim is placed...

I have a feeling it is more GPU centered? :hmm:
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 3459
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Erde

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby don_apple » Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:57 pm

It is actually both demanding on the CPU and on the GPU. The CPU is needed to run all the scripts that are needed for the economy, physics etc. and the GPU is obviously needed to render the graphics based on the cPU running the scripts. This is why the game won't run smoothly if you have a very good graphics card but a crap CPU and vice versa.
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
Wo findet man den FarmingSimulator Ordner / Where to find the FarmingSimulator folder log.txt Image Server Forenregeln/Board rules

User avatar
Mike3650
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:54 am

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby Mike3650 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:17 pm

don_apple wrote:It is actually both demanding on the CPU and on the GPU. The CPU is needed to run all the scripts that are needed for the economy, physics etc. and the GPU is obviously needed to render the graphics based on the cPU running the scripts. This is why the game won't run smoothly if you have a very good graphics card but a crap CPU and vice versa.


So is a 2500K @ 4.6 still good enough to run the game on very high? What GPU would be best paired with a 2500K?
bah

Shadow_ASP
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby Shadow_ASP » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:01 am

The Farming Sim series is alot more CPU demanding than GPU. Look at the graphics, the details and the shaders in use and compare with other sandbox games with the same scale. Yes, FS17 looks nice compared to FS15 and FS15 looks nice compared to FS2013, but neither look particularly nice or full of details compared to Arma 3, GTA5 etc.
A trick to check if your GPU is overworked or not; check your framerate with no AA, then check again with 8xAA or 16xAA.

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 3459
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Erde

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby don_apple » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:32 am

Mike3650 wrote:So is a 2500K @ 4.6 still good enough to run the game on very high? What GPU would be best paired with a 2500K?

Sorry, I'm not sure what you mean by "a 2500k", therefore I can't answer those questions.
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
Wo findet man den FarmingSimulator Ordner / Where to find the FarmingSimulator folder log.txt Image Server Forenregeln/Board rules

User avatar
Mike3650
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:54 am

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby Mike3650 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 10:26 am

don_apple wrote:
Mike3650 wrote:So is a 2500K @ 4.6 still good enough to run the game on very high? What GPU would be best paired with a 2500K?

Sorry, I'm not sure what you mean by "a 2500k", therefore I can't answer those questions.


An Intel Core i5-2500K (Sandybridge)

http://ark.intel.com/products/52210
bah


User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6832
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Is Farming Simulator GPU or CPU Demanding?

Postby JohnDeere318 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:12 pm

Ok, thanks guys! I guess I will have to upgrade my CPU in the future, but now, I think I will be fine with that AMD Radeon RX 470 and my AMD Phenom II x4 955. All I want to do, is play on High, sampling on 2 and everything else off with no lag, so I am not going to be too extreme with graphic settings. :smileynew:

The reason is, is because the Sosnovka farm rest area lags when I have too much vehicles and that annoys me pretty bad. When I harvest with 2 combines, 2 trucks with Courseplay, 2 planters, and 1 fertilizer worker going it lags tremendously! So I want to get the new GPU.

I do not care if this topic goes off-topic or anything, so I am going to ask what CPU do guys recommend that is between the $50-$200 range? I prefer a Quad Core or more, no less.
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer: I also play FS17 on PS4.

My new forum! Become a member today!: http://farminggamesforum.boards.net
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSK5zG ... Q2nc9LXgGQ

How to post your log.txt
Farming Simulator Customer Support Center
I do NOT support via PM, please use the forum.


Return to “[EN-FS15]Off-topic”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests