One Month In - My Thoughts

gordon861

One Month In - My Thoughts

Post by gordon861 »

OK one month in and I thought I'd give my thoughts as a complete newbi to farming sim.

Overall, I'm very pleased with the game, I bought it during the Steam discount and currently have nearly 190 hours in game.
  • Not exacty impressed with the instructions, either in game or the PDF. They seem to rely on the fact that you already know about farming without actually explaining the basics. Without Google and YouTube I doubt I'd be as far along as I am.
  • This game desperately needs a diary/calendar/log. If I plant a crop and plan to leave it for three cycles before plowing and changing the crop it would help if I knew where in the cycle I was. At the very least a text file that auto logged when I bought something or did something to a field. I tried to do it myself with an external text file but without a day number it makes keeping a log extremely difficult. I was wondering about buying something cheap at the start of the new game and using that as my calendar by checking how old it is but I shouldn't need to do this.
  • We need historical price curves so you have some idea of what is a good/bad price and you can spot if a price rises at a particular time of day. Also if you implemented Item 2 above, you could also add variations over multiple days to help with the variation.
    Another idea is perhaps a MOD author(or Giant) could use data collected from players that install a MOD and use what they sell in their games to influence the prices. Even if this just added a 10-20% variation it would discourage players just planting the flavour of the month. The system would have to only lower prices if another price is increased in order to stop everything being bottomed out. It could work along the lines of the MMO stats so that a positive 1% added to one crop would mean that a negative 1% is placed on another, but it should help mess with the prices.