Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:28 pm

so i made an exports folder in the map folder so i could export the buildings that i need for my map. I exported the files that i need and i built a map. Now i moved the files from the exports folder to the maps modules and textures folder and i get white buildings in game. i hope i explained well.

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:35 am

The i3d of the new map still has the file names pointed to the old exports location. Just adjust the file paths via text editor and your good to go.
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:21 am

mcatalyst wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:35 am
The i3d of the new map still has the file names pointed to the old exports location. Just adjust the file paths via text editor and your good to go.
The old path was like this

<File fileId="480" filename="../Exports/Chickens/models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>

now its like that but i still get those white textures.

<File fileId="480" filename="models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:45 pm

VRF wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:21 am
The old path was like this

<File fileId="480" filename="../Exports/Chickens/models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>

now its like that but i still get those white textures.

<File fileId="480" filename="models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>
What does your structure look like? I have the following with the filepath starting from inside the "maps" folder.
fillPlanes
foilage
maps/map01.i3d
maps/textures
maps/textures/goldcrestValley
shaders
shared

So if I used your models folder it would be...

maps/models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:32 pm

mcatalyst wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:45 pm
VRF wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:21 am
The old path was like this

<File fileId="480" filename="../Exports/Chickens/models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>

now its like that but i still get those white textures.

<File fileId="480" filename="models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png" relativePath="true"/>
What does your structure look like? I have the following with the filepath starting from inside the "maps" folder.
fillPlanes
foilage
maps/map01.i3d
maps/textures
maps/textures/goldcrestValley
shaders
shared

So if I used your models folder it would be...

maps/models/chickenCoop_diffuse.png
this is how i use my map folder

https://imgur.com/a/cdXaqGq

https://imgur.com/a/JbTmBcg

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:44 am

hrm, all that looks good.

What about selecting the textures through the materials window in the editor?

Are the shaders set to the correct location as well? (if you have any selected)
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:54 am

mcatalyst wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:44 am
hrm, all that looks good.

What about selecting the textures through the materials window in the editor?

Are the shaders set to the correct location as well? (if you have any selected)
i changed the paths through the materials window some textures were shown correctly but some were not.

https://imgur.com/a/UVu9Sj4

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:27 pm

VRF wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:54 am

i changed the paths through the materials window some textures were shown correctly but some were not.

https://imgur.com/a/UVu9Sj4
Try removing the shaders (temporarily at least) from the black items and see if that helps them show up correctly. Usually black textures only happen at certain angles which is caused by bad shader combinations or bad mipmaps in the texture itself.

The trees look like the branches texture isn't loading correctly though, double check that first along with the shader they are using.
After that I would re-import the same type of tree from Goldcrest and match-up all the material settings on the existing trees.

If the map was saved with the textures broken then it is possible the <material> container no longer has the <textures> container for the branches.
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:31 pm

mcatalyst wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:27 pm
VRF wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:54 am

i changed the paths through the materials window some textures were shown correctly but some were not.

https://imgur.com/a/UVu9Sj4
Try removing the shaders (temporarily at least) from the black items and see if that helps them show up correctly. Usually black textures only happen at certain angles which is caused by bad shader combinations or bad mipmaps in the texture itself.

The trees look like the branches texture isn't loading correctly though, double check that first along with the shader they are using.
After that I would re-import the same type of tree from Goldcrest and match-up all the material settings on the existing trees.

If the map was saved with the textures broken then it is possible the <material> container no longer has the <textures> container for the branches.
everythings the same, i fear i might have to replace all the objects.

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:38 pm

can you post the material container of one of the broken trees and the transform group that uses it.
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:54 pm

mcatalyst wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:38 pm
can you post the material container of one of the broken trees and the transform group that uses it.
this kind of screenshot ?

https://imgur.com/a/sYtyCZv

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:08 pm

On the Materials Screen the Diffuse Texture line is empty. That is the problem. You'll also notice that you can't click the ... button. You'll have to manually edit the i3d file and add the file back into the material.
Last edited by mcatalyst on Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:11 pm

mcatalyst wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:08 pm
On the Materials Screen the Diffuse Texture line is empty. Thats the problem. You'll also notice that you can't click the ... button. You'll have to manually edit the i3d file and add the file back into the material.
i have to select the LOD for the thing to show up

https://imgur.com/a/UP2z5nb

i have routed all files to the texture and model places through the materials editor.

User avatar
mcatalyst
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by mcatalyst » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:14 pm

What is on the next level down under the LOD0 for the attachments. Those are the branches.
MyrithisCatalyst - FDR Logging Console Modder

FDR Logging Mod Team YouTube Channels
FDR Logging YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/user/fdreviews
MyrithisCatalyst YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/MyrithisCatalyst
Bobcat Logger YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNNKuw ... TXH4YbyOpg

VRF
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:20 pm

Re: Changed the texture and module locations now i have white buildings

Post by VRF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:17 pm

mcatalyst wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:14 pm
What is on the next level down under the LOD0 for the attachments. Those are the branches.
i can't change the paths for these. So i have to open the map.i3d file with notepad and change the path ?

https://imgur.com/a/zM85YFG

Post Reply