The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Farmie2018
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:41 pm

The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Post by Farmie2018 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:52 pm

Hi,

Forgive me if this is (yet another) duplicate post. Believe me, I searched high and low for my answer but with no luck...

I'm new to the Giants editor. I'm following YouTube videos, etc and making progress. But, I don't know how to test my map. I see there is a "Play" button in the editor but when I push nothing seems to happen.

How does one test a map? I'm assuming it's not as complicated as zipping up the folder and putting into the mods folder and starting the game, correct? That just doesn't sound efficient if so.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

F.

Edit don_apple: thread moved from german to english section.

anthu
Posts: 2394
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:03 am

Re: The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Post by anthu » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:53 pm

it is not necessary to zip the map
you can push the complete map folder in the mods-folder
lg
andreas

Farmie2018
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:41 pm

Re: The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Post by Farmie2018 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:48 pm

Thanks. But do I have to start the game each and every time just to test??

anthu
Posts: 2394
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:03 am

Re: The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Post by anthu » Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:54 pm

No. Only abort the savegame. Back in thr main menü. Tab to the GE make changes. Save the map in the GE.
You must not end the GE. The map can stay open in GE. Only saving.
Then tab in the FS main menü and start a new game with the map
Lg
Andreas

Farmie2018
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:41 pm

Re: The "Play" Button and Testing Maps?

Post by Farmie2018 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:56 pm

Great, thank you.

Post Reply