[FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

haverdaden
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:28 pm

[FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by haverdaden » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:31 am

Hello, so I thought I would add a tutorial for increasing the number of farmlands as 62+1 may not be enough for huge and complicated maps. This method increases the farmlands from 62+1 to 126+1.

Note. I do not take responsibility for broken maps, game, save game etc.
--> Backup your map/files/save games before proceeding. <--



1. Download and unpack GRLE Converter v7.0.1 from Giants developer network.
2. Find your map's farmland.grle and drag and drop it on the GRLE Converter's "convert.cmd".
3. This should output an image file named farmland.png.
4. Make sure farmland.png is in the same place you found farmland.grle.
5. Delete farmland.grle so only farmland.png exist.
6. Open farmlands.xml.
7. Edit numChannels from 6 to 7.

Code: Select all

Example - Do not copypasta
Before: <farmlands densityMapFilename="maps/map/farmland.grle" numChannels="6" pricePerHa="60000">
After: 	<farmlands densityMapFilename="maps/map/farmland.grle" numChannels="7" pricePerHa="60000">
8. Save farmlands.xml and open your map.i3d with notepad++ or prefered editor.
9. Find the line specifying Infolayer farmland and change numChannels from 6 to 7.

Code: Select all

Example - Do not copypasta
Before: <InfoLayer name="farmland" fileId="XX" numChannels="6"/>
After: 	<InfoLayer name="farmland" fileId="XX" numChannels="7"/>
10. While inside map.i3d make sure that farmland.png that we created earlier is referenced.

Code: Select all

Example - Do not copypasta
What it should look like: <File fileId="XX" filename="map/farmland.png"/>
11. Double check that the path to your farmland.png is correct.
12. Save your map.i3d (With your text editor).
13. Double check that you have deleted farmland.grle and only farmland.png exist.

14. Open up your map in GE 8.x.
15. Go into farmland edit mode and if everything is correct you should see 127 channels in the drop down list.
16. Note that channel 63 (non-buyable land now has changed to 127 and 63 is normal buyable land).
17. Check only channel 6 (Layer value should now be 64).
18. Paint an area.
19. Save the map.

20. This should create a new farmland.grle.
21. Check that you have a new farmland.grle and delete farmland.png.
22. No need to edit map.i3d again as it will find the farmland.grle anyways.
23. Open farmlands.xml again and add a line for the new layer.

Code: Select all

Example - Do not copypasta
<farmland id="64" priceScale="1" npcName="NPC_DE_21" /> <!-- Our newly added farmland-->
21. Save farmlands.xml.
24. Load your map ingame, test, verify and now we should have more farmland channels!
*thumbsup*

Additional notes
Do not copy paste the examples as they are just examples.
Non-buyable (127) channel code is 0123456.
If you find all the channel codes for 64-127 please add them in the in the comment section.
Remember to add your new farmlands in farmlands.xml!
Please comment suggestions and questions to improve this tutorial.
Feel free to make a video of this tutorial and reference the video in the comment section!

And as a last note. Help each other!

User avatar
christo32b
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: [FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by christo32b » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:37 pm

Hi needs to know if there is no farmland in the 3di file how do I get it showing the farmland in the infolayer area.
"Find the line specifying Infolayer farmland and change numChannels from 6 to 7" can not find this in a map in Agrar Halbinsel map
Christo32b
oberhoo@mweb.co.za :gamer:

User avatar
christo32b
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: [FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by christo32b » Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:41 pm

Help me please were do I see any reply to my questions?
Christo32b
oberhoo@mweb.co.za :gamer:

Lygge
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:51 am

Re: [FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by Lygge » Wed May 08, 2019 1:50 pm

I have been thinking that some day I could rename my fields as we do with horses. And I thought at some day I could make the names to my cows too. My fields could be Surf beach or Power of desert, and my cow could be Black-Milk and Iron-Lady. ;-)
Origin through player

TracMaxx
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:41 am

Re: [FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by TracMaxx » Sat May 11, 2019 9:54 am

Hallo haverdaden,

many thanks for your tutorial.
Unfortunately, the method you described is only working in GE, but not ingame. Ingame the additional channel is ignored, so e.g. the areas 1 and 65 are buyed or sold together.
It seems that the value fon non buyable land has changed to 0 (zero), I can not buy land with zero and 64, too. But I can buy land with number 63.

Maybe there is a value which has to be changed in a script, like you can do it for more angles viewtopic.php?f=895&t=103798&hilit=incr ... directions.
Any hints are welcome.

My game configuration:
- Farming Simulator 19, Version: 1.3.0.1 b4009 (de)
- GIANTS Editor 64bit 8.1.0

Greetings TraxMax

Problem solved -- I missed to change the number of channels in the mapDE_farmlands.xml line 3 :confusednew:

kurtjackson
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:34 am

Re: [FS19 Tutorial] Increasing number of farmlands

Post by kurtjackson » Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:41 am

I solved this problem...Thank You anyway...

Post Reply