How to edit mods without restarting your game

Your forum for all discussions around Modding.
User avatar
asyvan
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:21 am
Location: Sweden

How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by asyvan »

I thought I would share something not everybody knows.
Here is how to change and fine tune mods without restarting your game between changes.
  • Modify your game.xml (in same directory as your savegames). Change <controls> to "true".

    Code: Select all

    <development>
            <controls>true</controls>
    </development>
  • Unzip the mod you are changing or tuning in a folder in your mods folder. FS19 can read mods that are unpacked in folders as well as ZIP-ed mods (single player only). Like this example for the Case Puma mod:
    Image
  • Start FS19 with launch option -cheats, this will enable additional commands in the console.
    gsReloadVehicle for example.

    Code: Select all

    gsAddBale
    gsAddDirtAmount
    gsAddPllet
    gsAddWearAmount
    gsAddWildlifeAnimalToDebug
    gsBuyAllFarmlands
    gsBuyFarmland
    gsCheatMoney
    gsCheatSilo
    gsClearTipArea
    gsDrawRawInput
    gsFillUnitAdd
    gsFillVehicle
    gsLoadAllVehicles
    gsLoadTree
    gsReloadAmbientSounds
    gsReloadVehicle
    gsSellAllFarmlands
    gsSellFarmLand
    gsSetDebugRenderingMode
    gsSetFieldFruit
    gsSetFieldFruitAll
    gsSetFieldGround
    gsSetFieldGroundAll
    gsSetFuel
    gsSetOperatingTime
    gsSetTemperature
    gsShowPlacementCollisions
    gsShowTipCollisions
    gsShowVehicleDistance
    gsTipFillType
    gsToggleAmbientSoundsDebug
    gsToggleDebugPlayerFSM
    gsToggleDebugStateJump
  • Now you are able to change files in the mod without restarting the game between your changes. Simply do like this:
    1. Change your mod (XML or i3D) in the folder you unpacked in your mod folder, and save.
    2. Open console (the key left of key 1 on your keyboard, above the tab key), press again to get a prompt and type gsReloadVehicle
    3. Your mod is reloaded, test it out
    4. If it's a motorized vehicle you can check power and weight with gsVehicleDebugPhysics
    5. Repeat from step 1 until you are satisfied.
Edit don_apple: topic moved from 'General Discussion' to 'Modding' since it is related to modding the game. Also pinned the topic so that it stays at the top in the list of topics in the section.
//Jens Ejvinsson
Farming History: FS11, FS13, FS15, FS17, FS19 (Steam)
Logitech G29, Logitech/Saitek Sidepanel, Logitech F710 Wireless gamepad
PC Gamer - "The Silent Beast" i7-7700K @ 5Ghz, GTX 1070 @ 2.1GHz

Case IH Puma CVX With Tracks
Väderstad Rapid A600-800S Seed Drill
Tutorial compilation for FS19 - list of all my How To guides
mikejl46
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:55 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by mikejl46 »

Great tip, Thanks
User avatar
High Cotton
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:30 pm

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by High Cotton »

Thank you this will save me hours!!!
Doctor ZXXI
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:13 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by Doctor ZXXI »

Hello all and thank you for this interessant tip.

I'm a new user of this board from Portugal and I would like to learn about the game and mod creation/modification.

I download the following mod:
https://www.yesmods.com/fs19-mods/truck ... truck-fsm/

I launch Farming Simulator 19 with the option -cheats to apply directly the modification after implement it.

And only for my private use, I would like to change the licence plate to another one. So, I unzipped the zip file mod
and modify the dds files with Paint.Net.

After modifying the mod, the modification are taken into account and I can see it in the store inside the game.
However, if a zipped the folder to create a zip file and launch the game again, the following error ocurred (extract
from log.txt):

Error: Failed to open xml file 'C:/Users/XXX/Documents/My Games/FarmingSimulator2019/mods/Iveco_Stralis_Clixtar_Bale_Autoload/modDesc.xml'.
Load mod: Iveco_Stralis_Clixtar_Bale_Autoload (Hash: 3fcbe0f6ea539c039ca84c1b1a0b2669)
Error: Missing descVersion attribute in mod Iveco_Stralis_Clixtar_Bale_Autoload


I don't figure out. If I use the modified folder it works, but if I create a zip file based on this folder the error below
is displayed.

Can you please help me to solve this error?

Of course, the folder contained the mod and the zip file are in the mod folder of Farming Simulator 19. For the first test I only have the folder contained the mod in Farming Simulator 19 mod folder and for the second test, I only have the zip file containing the mod inside the mod folder of Farming Simulator 19

Thanks in advance.
iosman987
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:17 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by iosman987 »

I often try mods out and then decide I don't want some for the map I'm playing at present so use ingame mod window to uninstall. Why is it that they do not then show up on ingame modhub list for if I do want it on a later map? They vanish completely. Thanks
dirtywastegash
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 7:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by dirtywastegash »

Does anyone know if this works on 17, and if so how to do it with Microsoft store version?
:hi:
"the night is dark and full of terrors"
dirty
zachthegamer99
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:37 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by zachthegamer99 »

How do i Fix the error that happens when i edit the mod and try to save it? it always says the process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.

Im on windows 10
Alagos
Moderator
Posts: 1934
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by Alagos »

You probably need to unzip your mod.
I assume people don't use Seasons, unless they say otherwise.

How to upload your >> log<<
How to upload >>images << to the forum
How to get your gamekey's activation limit >>reset<<
How to report a >> bug <<

>>Rules<<
User avatar
ShawnDaGeek
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by ShawnDaGeek »

Is there a way to reload a Mod Map with out having to create a new save game?
Procobator
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by Procobator »

This process also doesn’t work on script (Lua) mods.
KMullins
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:31 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by KMullins »

Can anyone tell me how to get the -cheats loaded in the Epic launcher for FS19?
anthu
Posts: 4967
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:03 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by anthu »

KMullins wrote: Mon Oct 11, 2021 5:37 am Can anyone tell me how to get the -cheats loaded in the Epic launcher for FS19?
If you use the easy development control mod
https://www.farming-simulator.com/mod.p ... _id=138864
You dont need the -cheats
The vehicle can reset with this mod.
Lg
Andreas
FishGaming
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2021 6:40 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by FishGaming »

Does this work if your editing any mod like for example implements and such?
Leofred2000
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:29 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by Leofred2000 »

How about changing the hash number so it will become a different mod? Then I can have one original mod and a modded mod of the same vehicle
User avatar
strauts6
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:00 am

Re: How to edit mods without restarting your game

Post by strauts6 »

Leofred2000 wrote: Tue Dec 28, 2021 12:23 pm How about changing the hash number so it will become a different mod? Then I can have one original mod and a modded mod of the same vehicle
It doesnt work like that, hash number is calculated based of file and cant be changed, unless you change something in the file. But simply changing version, title or description in modDesc will also change hash number.
Post Reply