CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:52 am

Having FPS issues with the GPU settings maxed out.

CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100 with terrible stuttering on Oakfield farm with base game equipment

Any advice appreciated
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

User avatar
Rbk_3
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:34 pm

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by Rbk_3 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:58 am

What is your GPU and what settings are you playing on?
My PC Specs
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700k OC'd to 4.5GHz
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-Z170X_Gaming 6
GPU: EVGA FTW3 1080 ti
RAM: S. Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000mhz
Storage: Crucial MX300 750GB SSD & Crucial Crutial MX300 525GB m.2-2280 SSD

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 4145
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Erde

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by don_apple » Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:25 am

Have a look at the following threads for information on how to find out what causes the FPS drops and tips on how to improve the performance of the game:
viewtopic.php?f=893&t=124978&hilit=FPS#p983627
viewtopic.php?f=896&t=125424&hilit=FPS

If you are running Windows 10 also check the following thread since the issue might be related to the latest update: viewtopic.php?f=893&t=125988&hilit=AMD

If the tips in those threads don't help then please post the log.txt go the game so that we can get a better overview of your setup (see the link 'log.txt' in my signature)
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
Wo findet man den FarmingSimulator Ordner / Where to find the FarmingSimulator folder log.txt Image Server Forenregeln/Board rules

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:45 am

Rbk_3 wrote:
Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:58 am
What is your GPU and what settings are you playing on?
MSI RX580 4GB and everything on max.
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:46 am

don_apple wrote:
Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:25 am
Have a look at the following threads for information on how to find out what causes the FPS drops and tips on how to improve the performance of the game:
viewtopic.php?f=893&t=124978&hilit=FPS#p983627
viewtopic.php?f=896&t=125424&hilit=FPS

If you are running Windows 10 also check the following thread since the issue might be related to the latest update: viewtopic.php?f=893&t=125988&hilit=AMD

If the tips in those threads don't help then please post the log.txt go the game so that we can get a better overview of your setup (see the link 'log.txt' in my signature)
Attachments
log.txt
(5.84 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3008
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by W1der » Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:58 am

If your GPU is at 100% load ... maybe try lowering the settings!?

The ratio CPU / GPU is normal ...
If I crank my game up to max out my GPU the CPU is still just "chillin out" with hardly any load.
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:33 am

W1der wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:58 am
If your GPU is at 100% load ... maybe try lowering the settings!?

The ratio CPU / GPU is normal ...
If I crank my game up to max out my GPU the CPU is still just "chillin out" with hardly any load.
Guess going to a 8GB GPU would improve things then?
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 4145
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Erde

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by don_apple » Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:48 am

Code: Select all

Render System
  Driver: Direct 3D 11
  Card Vendor: AMD/ATI
  Renderer: Radeon RX 580 Series
  Version: 24.20.11021.1000 (7.6.2018)
According to https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ws+10+-+64 there is a newer version of the graphics card driver available, might be worth trying that as well.

Also, does this only happen on that specific map? If yes then the map might not be optimised very well (clip distances not set correctly etc.) and you should try to contact the map author to see if he can fix this.
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
Wo findet man den FarmingSimulator Ordner / Where to find the FarmingSimulator folder log.txt Image Server Forenregeln/Board rules

User avatar
Rbk_3
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:34 pm

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by Rbk_3 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:28 am

BreadedVirus wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:46 am
don_apple wrote:
Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:25 am
Have a look at the following threads for information on how to find out what causes the FPS drops and tips on how to improve the performance of the game:
viewtopic.php?f=893&t=124978&hilit=FPS#p983627
viewtopic.php?f=896&t=125424&hilit=FPS

If you are running Windows 10 also check the following thread since the issue might be related to the latest update: viewtopic.php?f=893&t=125988&hilit=AMD

If the tips in those threads don't help then please post the log.txt go the game so that we can get a better overview of your setup (see the link 'log.txt' in my signature)
I don't know if it is related, but It says your resolution is 1920 x 1055, that seems very odd. If you're on a 1080p monitor that will introduce some wacky scaling.

Do other maps run fine? A 580 should be able to run this a 60fps no problem at 1080p
BreadedVirus wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:33 am
W1der wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:58 am
If your GPU is at 100% load ... maybe try lowering the settings!?

The ratio CPU / GPU is normal ...
If I crank my game up to max out my GPU the CPU is still just "chillin out" with hardly any load.
Guess going to a 8GB GPU would improve things then?
Is it using up all the available 4GB of memory? I highly doubt the map with base equipment is using up all 4GB.
My PC Specs
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700k OC'd to 4.5GHz
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-Z170X_Gaming 6
GPU: EVGA FTW3 1080 ti
RAM: S. Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000mhz
Storage: Crucial MX300 750GB SSD & Crucial Crutial MX300 525GB m.2-2280 SSD

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:50 pm

Rbk_3 wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:28 am
BreadedVirus wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:46 am
don_apple wrote:
Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:25 am
Have a look at the following threads for information on how to find out what causes the FPS drops and tips on how to improve the performance of the game:
viewtopic.php?f=893&t=124978&hilit=FPS#p983627
viewtopic.php?f=896&t=125424&hilit=FPS

If you are running Windows 10 also check the following thread since the issue might be related to the latest update: viewtopic.php?f=893&t=125988&hilit=AMD

If the tips in those threads don't help then please post the log.txt go the game so that we can get a better overview of your setup (see the link 'log.txt' in my signature)
I don't know if it is related, but It says your resolution is 1920 x 1055, that seems very odd. If you're on a 1080p monitor that will introduce some wacky scaling.

Do other maps run fine? A 580 should be able to run this a 60fps no problem at 1080p
BreadedVirus wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:33 am
W1der wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:58 am
If your GPU is at 100% load ... maybe try lowering the settings!?

The ratio CPU / GPU is normal ...
If I crank my game up to max out my GPU the CPU is still just "chillin out" with hardly any load.
Guess going to a 8GB GPU would improve things then?
Is it using up all the available 4GB of memory? I highly doubt the map with base equipment is using up all 4GB.
Yeah, it’s using up nearly all the memory while the CPU sits nice and comfy. Have all latest drivers installed too.

It’s happening on even the base maps too. Also my monitor and game settings are set at 1920/1080.
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:52 pm

don_apple wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:48 am

Code: Select all

Render System
  Driver: Direct 3D 11
  Card Vendor: AMD/ATI
  Renderer: Radeon RX 580 Series
  Version: 24.20.11021.1000 (7.6.2018)
According to https://support.amd.com/en-us/download/ ... ws+10+-+64 there is a newer version of the graphics card driver available, might be worth trying that as well.

Also, does this only happen on that specific map? If yes then the map might not be optimised very well (clip distances not set correctly etc.) and you should try to contact the map author to see if he can fix this.
Have all latest drivers installed and happens on even the base maps as well.
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

User avatar
Guil
Moderator
Posts: 4148
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:43 pm

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by Guil » Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:07 pm

Delete or move the log and game.xml and start the game and post the log text again, that says your drivers are out of date and you are using a weird resolution.

User avatar
fcdrifter13
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:04 am

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by fcdrifter13 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:40 pm

What CPU are you using, just because task manager says it is only using 50% it may be pegged out on one core/thread and that would be causing the lag. Try setting the priority of the game to high once you are in the map from the task manager.
Shamrock Valley Roleplay trying full "realism" as best I can and doing it almost like a VLOG
https://youtu.be/d2JBkLAReas

BreadedVirus
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by BreadedVirus » Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:32 pm

fcdrifter13 wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:40 pm
What CPU are you using, just because task manager says it is only using 50% it may be pegged out on one core/thread and that would be causing the lag. Try setting the priority of the game to high once you are in the map from the task manager.
i57400, but was thinking about upgrading to the i7700k. I set the priority of the game to high when in game already.
MasterBox Lite 5 ATX Case, Asus - PRIME B250M-A Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, i7700k ,MSI - Radeon RX 580 8GB ARMOR MK2 OC , 16GB DDR4 RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 3 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, 1TB HDD, Win 10, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter and a PS4
the big print giveth the small print taketh

User avatar
fcdrifter13
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:04 am

Re: CPU barely reaches 50% usage, yet GPU is at 100

Post by fcdrifter13 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:46 pm

BreadedVirus wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:32 pm
fcdrifter13 wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:40 pm
What CPU are you using, just because task manager says it is only using 50% it may be pegged out on one core/thread and that would be causing the lag. Try setting the priority of the game to high once you are in the map from the task manager.
i57400, but was thinking about upgrading to the i7700k. I set the priority of the game to high when in game already.
ok I was thinking maybe you had AMD, I have the same issue with my game on some maps and its quite annoying
Shamrock Valley Roleplay trying full "realism" as best I can and doing it almost like a VLOG
https://youtu.be/d2JBkLAReas

Post Reply