An open letter to Giants – Thank you

Nordvarg

An open letter to Giants – Thank you

Post by Nordvarg »

Dear Lisertan, Bassaddict, Melody, pfreek, Lethian and all others working at Giants

Just wanted to say thank you very much! You’re doing a great job! Please keep it up :)

FS15 was my first encounter with this highly addictive series (1906h on FS15, 1251h on FS17, and now, 10h on FS13...).

Not being a farmer myself, playing your games have sparked a sincere appreciation for the hard work of every good real-life farmer. My interest in agricultural equipment has gone from 2,5 to 100. And now I sometimes regret my career choices. All because of a game.

And what a game it is!

FS15 was great. The leap to FS17 was pretty huge. A lot of the features added to 17 was what I missed in 15. A two-year release cycle absolutely works.

But perhaps the most satisfying improvement is the amount of communication between yourself and us, the players (and modders). It so nice, so refreshing, to see how active you are, both here in the forums, on Discord, and now on Reddit. I believe many game developers have a lot to learn from you about communicating with their customers. You’ve raised the industry standard significantly.

Now, with the next chapter of this farming fairytale some short months away, I’ll leave you with this:

1. Keep up the good work. Because that’s what it is: It’s really good work.

2. Kudos to you for working closely with great modders. More of that.

3. Please revive the modding calls. Or do something similar. The opportunity to ask you modding related questions directly is great. Yeah, Discord is ok. But it’s not the same. (Of course, you could make the GDN forum a strictly moderated section of this forum. You could also hire a designated modding community manager, the FS modding community’s equivalent to Lisertan, if you will…).

4. Check in with the Courseplay developers now and then. They’re doing a really great job.

FordFarmer97