Total novice wanting to build gaming pc

Coldlandlord

Total novice wanting to build gaming pc

Post by Coldlandlord »

As title, I am a total novice when it comes to everything within a computer. I am a nut, bolt and spanner kind of guy but I've always wanted to understand the workings of a pc and have a go at building one. I have rebuilt engines and am a practical person so I'm confident I can plug some stuff together properly. My main problem is that i don't really know what all the numbers and codes mean or what is compatible with what so when choosing what to use i am going by price and relying on youtube advice.

With FS19 fast approaching and the cost of an off the shelf, ready to go pc being in the thousands, I think now is the time to do it.

I don't want anything too fancy and i don't want it to look like a space ship but i do want it to be able to run fs19 on max settings. I'm not really a big gamer and FS19 would probably be 1 of 2 games that i will play and care about the quality of the graphics etc. I can make do with other games being inferior in quality.

So I have been reading up on the subject for a few weeks now and I have watched lots of Youtube vids on building a gaming PC. The one that stands out to me is this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3AVTmoU ... e=youtu.be

The spec for those that don't want to view the video:

CPU - Intel 8th gen quad core I3 8100 (coffee lake?)
Motherboard - MSI Z370A pro
RAM - G Skills Ripjaws V 8mb
HDD - 1TB WD Blue. I might upgrade to 2 TB and add in a SSD (around 240GB?)
GPU - Zotac GTX 1060 6GB
Power - EVGA 500w unit
A cheap case with built in fans that works well for the above components.

I will prob overclock as in the linked youtube guide once i understand what that means and how to do it safely.

I have a budget of sub £700 and the above comes in at around £650.

My questions to you guys who know what they are talking about: