Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

wallacewellfarm
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:00 pm
Location: Scotland

Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by wallacewellfarm » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:13 am

Just wondering if Giant's actually know what they are doing as i have read alot of comment's about pc players having yet more problems with this new 1.3 patch thats out.
Personally i am on console and won't download the patch when it comes out for consoles until i see what others are saying about it.
Giant's have a great game on their hands and some great features but i am not very trust worthy when it comes to these updates and patches now.
Thoughts?

User avatar
Beastbubba
Posts: 1131
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Beastbubba » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:27 am

I haven't had any issues, but I'm also not to silage atm and haven't cut down any trees since the patch. Diden't affect my game other than resetting my MPH / Dollar settings, which is simple to set back.
PC gamer.

Zetor9145
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:45 pm
Location: In My Truck.

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Zetor9145 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:42 am

It's early days yet BUT I think they have cured most of the annoying bugs but I wont be able to test the bunkers for a few days.

Workers are for the best part working better...!

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3684
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by W1der » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:36 am

wallacewellfarm wrote:Just wondering if Giant's actually know what they are doing as i have read alot of comment's about pc players having yet more problems with this new 1.3 patch thats out.
Personally i am on console and won't download the patch when it comes out for consoles until i see what others are saying about it.
Giant's have a great game on their hands and some great features but i am not very trust worthy when it comes to these updates and patches now.
Thoughts?

I noticed that some players are reporting problems that actually is not problems ...
When things do not work the way it used to ... that might not be a problem ... that might be an improvement to fix the previous problem ... or possibly only a "work around" ...

After doing some random game play, after the update ... I noticed several things that has been changed ...
So ... the learning curb has been set back a bit ... and I need to get familiar with the new way (before I can tell if it works better or not).

The first thing I noticed is that front loaders and crane movement was different ... and I needed to start changing the "sensitivity" for them.
After some tuning I got them working the way I want it again ... *thumbsup*

Happy to see that "camera sensitivity" has been added, in the menus ... !
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

Denhalen
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:15 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Denhalen » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:50 am

So far I haven't found major issues with the new patch. Just that I needed to adjust my field of view and a modded plough now still leaves a small bit not plowed. But as all patches goes. Every patch uncovers a new issue or conflict. And not all fixes are major or game changing. Sometimes Mods are needed for that.

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3684
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by W1der » Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:10 pm

Actually ...

After all I read and "said" on this forum since day 1 of FS17 ... also looking back on how I tried playing this game "the old FS15 way" ...
My decision now, is to start a new "savegame" ... and do things "the FS17 way" instead ... :blushnew:

I will be cheating 500 000 in to the game for some placeable trees (to make the map look more alive) ...
Then I will do the nuggets ... to give myself a boost regarding "starting equipment" ... and take it from there ... *thumbsup*
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

OneAmongOthers
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:27 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by OneAmongOthers » Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:15 pm

Logging is fine now. It was broken before.

User avatar
W1der
Posts: 3684
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
Location: SWEDEN

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by W1der » Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:23 pm

OneAmongOthers wrote:Logging is fine now. It was broken before.
Logging still has problems ...

Logs keep sliding out of the grip of log forks and crane tools ...
Also ... after the update I seen my first "invisible" tree ...
[Win10] Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz / GTX1070 Dual OC 8GB GDDR5 / 32GB 2133MHz DDR4 SDRAM

erict43
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by erict43 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:03 pm

Yes, they know what they are doing. This isn't the first time they've done this. I have had worse experiences with other game launches, and better with others, but so far I haven't had any major problems with FS17. I think they have been fairly quick to get problems fixed.

User avatar
Sarge
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:43 pm
Location: Lansing MI, USA

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Sarge » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:42 pm

Have any of you ever tried a new version of any operating system?? They all fail something as do new games. It takes a few months of give and take and if I fix this it breaks that, to get to the best middle of the road location.

Obviously patience is not one of a gamers' virtues or if it is none of us have it.
Al Nixon
When God calls the only correct answer is "Yes Lord"!

Platform PC, Hardware-Dell XPS desktop

User avatar
Beastbubba
Posts: 1131
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Beastbubba » Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:37 pm

If you think Farming Simulator 17 has alot of issues, go try one of it's current compeditors. Some of the others are so bad they are almost unplayable.
PC gamer.

WARHAWKx88
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 7:13 am

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by WARHAWKx88 » Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:07 am

Beastbubba wrote:If you think Farming Simulator 17 has alot of issues, go try one of it's current compeditors. Some of the others are so bad they are almost unplayable.
Exactly right. As much as some gamers want to complain about this game or its updates, it is much better off than those that try to be competitors. GIANTS made a big leap in terms of gameplay with this iteration, and it really makes you dive further in and be that much more preoccupied with managing your farm. There is no light undertaking when you take on animals, for instance. The expansions on mechanics in this game are a big improvement and incorporate many things that modders had added into FS15. Will there be bugs? Absolutely. The thing that most developers would tell you is every time you attempt a fix, it can and usually will introduce new bugs. I have faith in GIANTS that they will squash most of these bugs and the game will be better for it. Patience is key..

User avatar
MrSquealypig
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 1:03 pm

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by MrSquealypig » Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:47 am

Real life is complicated, so I give devs a lot of slack for trying to simulate it.

And this is the only good simulation game that has been available on consoles, so they're sailing in uncharted waters.

Alexandro
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:41 am

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by Alexandro » Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:23 am

Since the update trees have stopped to sink into the ground, no matter how i cut them. There is still a problem when you try to load logs on a trailer to full capacity. I have to put a belt every 3 or 4 logs, or the craziest things happen.

User avatar
JohnDeere318
Posts: 6883
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Do Giant's have a clue what they are doing?

Post by JohnDeere318 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:41 pm

I am not having any problems with the new update.
My PC specs: Click Here (Google Doc) :gamer:

How to post your log.txt

Post Reply