[WON'T FIX] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

[WON'T FIX] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:09 am

I have had a problem where the lakes and rivers do not show up or you can only see them when I get very close but even then I may only see 20 to 50 ft. of water. I have tried resetting my graphic settings back to Very High and still have the problem. Mostly I had my graphic settings all maxed out. This has been a problem since day one when I started playing the game via Steam a couple of months ago.

So, in other words, when I see a river or lake it is just an empty gulch. As I start getting closer suddenly I can see it sort of show up depending on the angle.
I am using the Goldcrest Valley map and I did go back a few minutes ago and turned off all Mods just to make sure one of those wasn't causing a problem. I still had the same problem.

Thanks for any help or if you need more information, please let me know.

Mac Pro (Late 2013)
MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.2
Processor 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Graphics Dual AMD FirePro D500 3GB

https://image.giants-software.com/index ... h=AA55QqJs][img]
https://image.giants-software.com/index ... h=APUt4MrS][img]
https://image.giants-software.com/index ... h=HjjvxHnN][img]
https://image.giants-software.com/index ... h=Du7cUVEV][img]
Attachments
log.txt
(7.12 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

User avatar
x Lethian x
GIANTS Software | QA Lead
Posts: 2160
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:39 pm

Re: Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by x Lethian x » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:19 am

Hi aWaRLoCK!

Could you tell me what map(s) you are experiencing this on? Do you notice any other graphical errors while playing? Have you tried updating your graphic's card to the latest drivers?
How to report a BUG -> German / English | How to post a log file | How to upload images

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:46 pm

I have been only playing the GoldCrest Valley map, so far. I do not see any other graphical errors while playing. Everything else looks great.

I did go to Estancia Lapacho map last night and even at the swimming pool at the main house I could only see about half of the water in the pool.
Since this is a MacPro I typically install any updates that the MacPro/Apple tells me are available. These are factory installed Apple/AMD graphics cards.
Other than Apple, I am not sure where I would go to check for latest drivers? Thxs.

Here are the specs for the Dual Cards:
1st AMD FirePro D500:

Chipset Model: AMD FirePro D500
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 3 GB
Vendor: AMD (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x679e
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-C3861J-687
VBIOS Version: 113-C3861LA-029
EFI Driver Version: 01.0D.687
Automatic Graphics Switching: Supported
gMux Version: 4.0.11 [3.2.8]
Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily1 v3

2ndAMD FirePro D500:

Chipset Model: AMD FirePro D500
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-2
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 3 GB
Vendor: AMD (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x679e
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-C3861J-687
VBIOS Version: 113-C3861LB-029
EFI Driver Version: 01.0D.687
Automatic Graphics Switching: Supported
gMux Version: 4.0.11 [3.2.8]
Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily1 v3
Displays:
Sceptre 4K Monitor U40:
Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Color (ARGB2101010)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:56 pm

Any updates on this issue? Thanks.

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:41 am

Update: We just purchased a brand new Mac Pro 8-Core with the Dual AMD FirePro D700 graphics card and the water shows up just fine. Changed my graphic settings from Very High (Custom) to just Very High which was the identical settings on the new Mac Pro 8-Core and the water was still screwed up. Turned off mods again . . . that didn't help. It must be something in those Dual AMD FirePro D500 graphic cards. Let me Bootcamp to Windows 10, install FS17 there, and then see if the water shows up correctly or not.

OK, so I used Bootcamp, booted to Windows 10, installed FS17, set all of my graphic settings to the same as I had on the Mac side, and the water looks fine. So, something in the Mac version since the same graphic cards on the Windows side work fine?? Just letting you know.

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:00 am

Once again, any updates on this issue? Is anyone even looking at this issue or a fix?

As indicated, it has to be something in the Mac programming, I would think, since the same computer on Bootcamp/Windows 10 shows the water just fine. But like many Mac owners, I prefer to play on the OSX side.

Thanks.

SomeFarmer
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:45 pm

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by SomeFarmer » Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:46 am

I have an interest in this issue, too.
Any update would be appreciated.

aWaRLoCK
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:57 am

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by aWaRLoCK » Sat Apr 28, 2018 1:30 pm

I guess I am beginning to assume this problem is not going to be corrected. If you need additional information you just need to let me know. Any updates with regards to this issue?Thanks.

Alagos
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by Alagos » Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:10 pm

If this isn't a widespread problem, there might not be an actual fix. Since your other Mac doesn't have the same issue I'd say this problem is pretty rare.

User avatar
x Lethian x
GIANTS Software | QA Lead
Posts: 2160
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:39 pm

Re: [READ] Rivers and Lakes do not show up correctly

Post by x Lethian x » Wed May 02, 2018 8:57 am

Hey guys!

We did try to pinpoint the problem and are having a close look at the engine code but can still not determine the exact issue. We are working on improving this for the future titles though, but we will not fix the problem for FS17 anymore, I'm afraid.
How to report a BUG -> German / English | How to post a log file | How to upload images

Post Reply