Not enough slots on console

VT WHITE VAN 99
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:40 am

Not enough slots on console

Post by VT WHITE VAN 99 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:59 am

So I own about 10 pieces of equipment on my farm have taken up 900 slots out of 1299. Will giants change this around

User avatar
vondeylenfarms
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:53 pm
Location: USA, Ohio

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by vondeylenfarms » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:25 am

Nope...they didn't for 17 and won't for this. Some say it's the consoles fault but who knows...I'm in the same boat as u and hardly any placeables yet. When mods come out I'm screwed
Vondeylen Farms Ohio, U.S.
1000 acres, family farm, huge Case IH guy(however not racist we own some green :coolnew: )

Platform-PS4

ace54858
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:45 pm

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by ace54858 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:44 am

that is because depending which map there are 519 slot's being used on Ravenport when nothing is owned and 414 slot's used on Felsbrunn and about the same on the South American map as well. on Ravenport that's about 41% of the slot's taken before even buy anything if playing on normal or hard mode. giants did up the slot limit in FS19 to the 1299.

parad0x177
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:52 pm
Location: Southeastern USA

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by parad0x177 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:05 am

vondeylenfarms wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:25 am
Nope...they didn't for 17 and won't for this. Some say it's the consoles fault but who knows...I'm in the same boat as u and hardly any placeables yet. When mods come out I'm screwed
It’s the console. Seriously. It is not a mystery or a conspiracy. Think about it: What possible, rational purpose would Giants have for arbitrarily punishing a section of their market after going to the (considerable) trouble of developing and marketing console games, when they could have stuck to PC?

Console hardware is fixed and generally a notable step or three behind PC technology by the time they are released. Then, there is no opportunity to have more RAM, or a faster CPU, or a faster GPU. (PS4 Pro and Xbox One X are basically irrelevant here because the game has to work on the oldest console of the generation.) So, by the time the next console generation appears, consoles are pretty old in gaming computing terms. They are also subject to whatever development criteria that the console manufacturer dictates with respect to storage foot print, RAM utilization, maximum allowable add-on/DLC space, etc, etc, etc. So, to port a PC game over to a console means making sacrifices. And to port complicated, expandable, extendable games like simulators means accepting limits. (Ever wonder why you don’t see serious flight simulators on consoles?)

In this case, it means keeping you from crashing your console by running it out of RAM by loading too much stuff in your game, or by bringing it’s CPU to it’s knees keeping up with the actions of some huge number of hired helpers, all chugging away on highly detailed, animated, 3D models, or by eating up the entire hard drive with mods. That’s what “slots” are; they are an understandable-to-the-layman way of keeping you within the operational limits of your chosen platform.

User avatar
PrincessJessi84
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:03 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by PrincessJessi84 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:13 am

hang on.. i know whats next.. "but GTA5 has X Y and Z stuff on the map.. pretty buildings and AI traffic that is literally like a half step ahead of giants AI traffic.. if they can do it with the game engine they spent millions of dollars building y cant giants!?!? its not fair.. its a conspiracy like area 51.. giants holding us console users back because #PCMASTERRACE"
15 & 17 on XBone X / 17 & 19 on PC
Stop in and check out our forum for dynamic sales and roleplaying @http://fs19communitytrader.freeforums.net/

Weasle
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by Weasle » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:36 am

Yeah they should just stop making the game for console really.

Force us all to get high end PCs.

We are clearly holding everyone back in terms of development.

User avatar
PrincessJessi84
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:03 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by PrincessJessi84 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:44 am

ok look.. i was honestly trying to be funny.. this thread is gonna end up the same as the rest even before my comment.. i really wasn't trying to flame the argument.. hence the area 51 comment and the #PCMASTERRACE nonsense.. there r physical limitations to the console which hold everyone back but sony and MS.. we all lose here.. who cares honestly
15 & 17 on XBone X / 17 & 19 on PC
Stop in and check out our forum for dynamic sales and roleplaying @http://fs19communitytrader.freeforums.net/

Weasle
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by Weasle » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:45 am

So was I, that had no ill intent, sorry if you took it that way.

Even if I had an high end PC which I do, I wouldnt play farming simulator on it.

I am a network engineer, and sit at a desk for 12 hours.

The last thing I want to do to relax is sit on my computer at home.

User avatar
PrincessJessi84
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:03 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by PrincessJessi84 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:52 am

just remember to throw some good jokes in when commenting on stuff like this.. people on both sides of this argument tend to get REALLY butthurt.. its a touchy subject.. much like the tiny naked aliens at area 51 with their creepy long fingers and adorable giant heads
15 & 17 on XBone X / 17 & 19 on PC
Stop in and check out our forum for dynamic sales and roleplaying @http://fs19communitytrader.freeforums.net/

User avatar
vondeylenfarms
Posts: 1129
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:53 pm
Location: USA, Ohio

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by vondeylenfarms » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:53 am

Thank you for explaining your intent...it seemed as though again it was going to be a PC rules all and console users r retarded. I understand consoles have limitations...nothing we can do but hope it gets better...either another FS or next gen consoles lol
Vondeylen Farms Ohio, U.S.
1000 acres, family farm, huge Case IH guy(however not racist we own some green :coolnew: )

Platform-PS4

Weasle
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by Weasle » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:54 am

Its an old movie, I just recently watched it. You would like it if you have not seen it.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1092026/

User avatar
PrincessJessi84
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:03 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by PrincessJessi84 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:57 am

it will not get better until the next gen of consoles comes out and xbone/ps4 go the way of the 360 sadly (i know i know.. more bad news.. srry)
15 & 17 on XBone X / 17 & 19 on PC
Stop in and check out our forum for dynamic sales and roleplaying @http://fs19communitytrader.freeforums.net/

lefe1
Posts: 1997
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:21 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by lefe1 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:00 am

What! 10 pieces of equipment on your farm have taken up 900 slots out of 1299... I have 38 pieces and i'm only at 841/1299

Weasle
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by Weasle » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:01 am

Yeah I have a lot of equipment also and its not like that.

I guess someone must be having an all John deer farm. Some of those deers I think have like 45 slot count.

Ridiculous.

User avatar
PrincessJessi84
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:03 am

Re: Not enough slots on console

Post by PrincessJessi84 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:06 am

honestly i was thinking like trees or bales.. stuff like that.. as i recall u guys were saying that it counts towards the overall slot count now? i just didn't wanna speculate as ive not seen fs19 on console
15 & 17 on XBone X / 17 & 19 on PC
Stop in and check out our forum for dynamic sales and roleplaying @http://fs19communitytrader.freeforums.net/

Post Reply