Giants: Please add place anywhere

User avatar
asyvan
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:21 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by asyvan » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:25 pm

JohnDeere77 wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:23 pm
If I use the place anywhere mod to get my buildings on the edge of a cliff. Do I need it after finished landscaping/placing mods?
No. You can remove it or deactivate it if you want to.
//Jens Ejvinsson
Farming History: FS11, FS13, FS15, FS17, FS19 (Steam)
Logitech G29, Logitech/Saitek Sidepanel, Logitech F710 Wireless gamepad
PC Gamer - "The Silent Beast" i7-7700K @ 5Ghz, GTX 1070 @ 2.1GHz

Case IH Puma CVX With Tracks
Väderstad Rapid A600-800S Seed Drill
Tutorial compilation for FS19 - list of all my How To guides

Walrusman02
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:59 pm
Location: USA

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Walrusman02 » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:38 pm

Guil wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:55 am
It's not as simple as fix it, like many other things, it will most likely break a bigger gameplay aspect of the game.
Add it, let it break the game, and then people will see its not this “fix all” solution and will start to beg to remove it
(dont actually do this)
2004 Sierra 1500 SLE 4x4
5.3 vortec w/turbo

User avatar
redglasses
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Farming land, Canada

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by redglasses » Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:57 pm

Add it as an option, people complain tell them to turn it off. Actually do this
Woodshire on xbox one (Thanks Redkeinstus and RitchiF)
Upload your screenshots here: IMG server
Buy and sale forum
Remember there is no need to spread your manure around the forums :wink3:
Jack of all trades, master of the skid steer
Have fun out on the fields :hi:

User avatar
GothicKing13
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by GothicKing13 » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:09 am

Guil, my friend. You seem to be traveling through dangerous waters on this thread. I'd watch out for any pitchforks heading your way while you're visiting. :lol:
GOTHICKING13 With every deed, you are sowing a seed. Though the harvest, you may not see.

Rasping rabbit
Posts: 1280
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Rasping rabbit » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:48 am

If there have been issues with this mod breaking the game on pc I doubt very much if they will add it. The reason behind the stricter rules for consoles, no external scripts, memory management etc is because Sony & Microsoft want games on their systems to work.

I can imagine how it would go if it came to light that giants released something they knew had the potential to cause issues.

It’s all well and good saying players can take responsibility for using it but I think it’s a case of their platforms, their rules.

And this is coming from a console player who would like the freedom to ‘place anywhere’

User avatar
redglasses
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Farming land, Canada

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by redglasses » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:51 am

I don’t want the actual mod to be put on consoles I want giants to implement it into the game. If not then at least relax the placing boundaries so we can actually build a damn yard.
Woodshire on xbox one (Thanks Redkeinstus and RitchiF)
Upload your screenshots here: IMG server
Buy and sale forum
Remember there is no need to spread your manure around the forums :wink3:
Jack of all trades, master of the skid steer
Have fun out on the fields :hi:

Rasping rabbit
Posts: 1280
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Rasping rabbit » Sun Jun 23, 2019 1:57 am

After just building a farm on the new map with the name I can’t spell (prz something) I wonder sometimes if it’s the mods or the game.

My reasoning is, I placed 2 of alienjims sheds next to each other but had to leave a gap big enough for a tractor between them.

I also placed an ingame bunker silo, at the side of it I placed 2 of alienjims seed / fert stores, these were so close they were almost touching each other and backed right up to the wall of the bunker silo. Plus one of the fuel station mods just as close to the silo itself.

Image

Image
Last edited by Rasping rabbit on Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Riven326
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:05 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Riven326 » Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:05 am

Rasping rabbit wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:48 am
If there have been issues with this mod breaking the game on pc I doubt very much if they will add it. The reason behind the stricter rules for consoles, no external scripts, memory management etc is because Sony & Microsoft want games on their systems to work.

I can imagine how it would go if it came to light that giants released something they knew had the potential to cause issues.

It’s all well and good saying players can take responsibility for using it but I think it’s a case of their platforms, their rules.

And this is coming from a console player who would like the freedom to ‘place anywhere’
No. This is entirely on Giants. Any update to a game mechanic can cause issues elsewhere. They should absolutely try to make the system less aggressive at the very least.

User avatar
GothicKing13
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by GothicKing13 » Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:09 am

Rasping rabbit wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 1:57 am
Image
Those items are aligned so well with each other, it has the OCD in me smiling. *thumbsup*
Well placed, looks neatly done. Also, within your 2nd pic. Nice looking farm, my friend! :coolnew:
GOTHICKING13 With every deed, you are sowing a seed. Though the harvest, you may not see.

Rasping rabbit
Posts: 1280
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Rasping rabbit » Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:06 am

GothicKing13 wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:09 am
Those items are aligned so well with each other, it has the OCD in me smiling. *thumbsup*
Well placed, looks neatly done. Also, within your 2nd pic. Nice looking farm, my friend! :coolnew:
Thanks 😊

SJ_Sathanas
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:02 am

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by SJ_Sathanas » Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:44 am

I noticed the inconsistency with different buildings, too. I was able to get Dorset's curved steel shed into an area but not a physically smaller chicken coop. The coop clearly had a larger footprint.
I've since decided not to bother with placeables so much and am sticking with mod maps that have prebuilt yards.

FarmerJeff
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by FarmerJeff » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:18 am

I had high hopes for 19’s placeables and terraforming, but after fooling around with it, and new maps appearing with animal areas and buildings already placed as an option, the writing was on the wall for the future of those two features. Placeables on 19 took a big step backward from 17.

User avatar
IceUul
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:07 pm
Location: North Part Of EU

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by IceUul » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:45 am

How is see Giants meeting at the moment :lol:
Image

User avatar
iB055
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:52 am
Location: Made In The USA

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by iB055 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:32 am

Yeah I've given up hope for a solution for this placeables system. Especially after it has been deemed "not fixable"

It was a highlighted feature for 19 but was a significant failure from the beginning. As a result map makers are continuing to create "fully furnished" maps making the placeable feature almost useless.

Given that the placeable system was supposed to be something new and better I would have expected to see an increased number of placeable structures being created. Unfortunately this is not the case due to such obnoxious constraints to place something exactly where you want to place it. Yes there are a good number of user created placeables thus far but not many actually from Giants other than the vanilla structures and actually having the ability to place any of them without seeing a warning saying it can't be placed here.
FS19 / PS4

Brogo83
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 8:59 pm

Re: Giants: Please add place anywhere

Post by Brogo83 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:58 pm

I totally agree.
Building your own farm is a frustrating experience on consoles. Some of the placeables have a large footprint, some don't. And sometimes you can detect a "wormhole" where you can actually place things totally colliding with each other if you fiddle around long enough. I managed to place the standard ingame silo extension intersecting with the fence of my standard ingame sheep pasture...
What are the rules?
Doesn't make sense for me.

Post Reply