Page 11 of 13

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
by Stegei
The XboxOne version currently has a bug, that some vehicles have a too low slot count (and some have a too high one) shown in the shop page. But it would still use more memory than what the slot count would suggest. So buying too many different of those can actually lead to a crash due to running out of memory (note that buying the second version of the same vehicle correctly only uses a very small number, usually just 1). Also the maps don't use as many slots as needed by the system.
This will be fixed with the next patch, so that the slot counts will match again with the PS4 version (the PS4 version doesn't have that issue).
If you did use that bug and bought more vehicles that what would have been possible with the correct system (and you were lucky that the game did not crash), your savegame will continue to work with the patch. However, you will have to sell vehicles until you get back to slot count smaller than the maximum allowed before you can buy new vehicles again.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:38 pm
by O5-Chaki
Stegei wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
The XboxOne version currently has a bug, that some vehicles have a too low slot count (and some have a too high one) shown in the shop page. But it would still use more memory than what the slot count would suggest. So buying too many different of those can actually lead to a crash due to running out of memory (note that buying the second version of the same vehicle correctly only uses a very small number, usually just 1). Also the maps don't use as many slots as needed by the system.
This will be fixed with the next patch, so that the slot counts will match again with the PS4 version (the PS4 version doesn't have that issue).
If you did use that bug and bought more vehicles that what would have been possible with the correct system (and you were lucky that the game did not crash), your savegame will continue to work with the patch. However, you will have to sell vehicles until you get back to slot count smaller than the maximum allowed before you can buy new vehicles again.
What he said, i was about to write this. :biggrin2:

Thanks Stegei!

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:05 pm
by Pensarethebest
Stegei wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
The XboxOne version currently has a bug, that some vehicles have a too low slot count (and some have a too high one) shown in the shop page. But it would still use more memory than what the slot count would suggest. So buying too many different of those can actually lead to a crash due to running out of memory (note that buying the second version of the same vehicle correctly only uses a very small number, usually just 1). Also the maps don't use as many slots as needed by the system.
This will be fixed with the next patch, so that the slot counts will match again with the PS4 version (the PS4 version doesn't have that issue).
If you did use that bug and bought more vehicles that what would have been possible with the correct system (and you were lucky that the game did not crash), your savegame will continue to work with the patch. However, you will have to sell vehicles until you get back to slot count smaller than the maximum allowed before you can buy new vehicles again.
So was there an improvement in the slot count with the last update with the maps?

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:18 pm
by Mafredr
Interestingly tho i have not yet heard our seen anyone talk about the game crash after this slot bug....

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:46 pm
by chedly_farms
O5-Chris wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:38 pm
Stegei wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
The XboxOne version currently has a bug, that some vehicles have a too low slot count (and some have a too high one) shown in the shop page. But it would still use more memory than what the slot count would suggest. So buying too many different of those can actually lead to a crash due to running out of memory (note that buying the second version of the same vehicle correctly only uses a very small number, usually just 1). Also the maps don't use as many slots as needed by the system.
This will be fixed with the next patch, so that the slot counts will match again with the PS4 version (the PS4 version doesn't have that issue).
If you did use that bug and bought more vehicles that what would have been possible with the correct system (and you were lucky that the game did not crash), your savegame will continue to work with the patch. However, you will have to sell vehicles until you get back to slot count smaller than the maximum allowed before you can buy new vehicles again.
What he said, i was about to write this. :biggrin2:

Thanks Stegei!
Thanks for the update. That news is a tad disappointing, but at least we know the reasoning behind everything. Once again, I appreciate the effort that you all do behind the scenes so thank you for that.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:18 am
by Farm-war
gilroy222 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
Farm-war wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:22 pm
and continue with your disappointment, buy an xbox and problem solved
Don't get too high and mighty just yet.... Remember Giants said they weren't sure why the slots went down, so they had to look into it. There is always the possibility of them reversing this.

Edit: right on cue. See Stegei's post

Luckily a few weeks ago I was afraid that they would reverse this, and so it will be but just in time I already have a PC I don't care about this anymore I hope they fix this for the good of both parties all happy, in PC there a few black lines and jerks but only that a slight lag

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:49 am
by vondeylenfarms
Well I find it weird that Xbox players been playing with this for awhile and maxing out their slots...yet never crashed and worked fine 🤔 oh well I guess, I'm not surprised

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:17 am
by Tylercheesey1986
Im on Xbox one s, i have not had any issues at all, tried testing by maxing slots on a few maps and played for a few hours on each with no problems.

It would be good if it had of been possible to keep slots lowered and apply the same to PS4, but I that's obviously not happening.
Oh well,
If slot counts on vehicles get raised again it won't really bother me anyway as i generally try to set up my farms to specialise in a few certain types of animal farming/crops.
Rarely get close to maxing slots, if you try to include everything in one farm and own equipment to farm every crop and have a heap of buildings etc you will undoubtedly reach the limit.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:20 am
by O5-Chaki
vondeylenfarms wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:49 am
Well I find it weird that Xbox players been playing with this for awhile and maxing out their slots...yet never crashed and worked fine 🤔 oh well I guess, I'm not surprised
The thing is more that we can't guarantee it and of course not everyone who experience a crash will write into this thread (Forums tend to be posted to only by a small fraction of the playerbase). Our Support has received cases where the lowered slot caused issues.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:30 am
by eater84
O5-Chris wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:20 am
Our Support has received cases where the lowered slot caused issues.
In my opinion it's a gamebraker bug, isn't it?
Should be patched asap.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:08 pm
by Guil
eater84 wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:30 am
O5-Chris wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:20 am
Our Support has received cases where the lowered slot caused issues.
In my opinion it's a gamebraker bug, isn't it?
Should be patched asap.
Just say what you want to say instead of trying to bait an answer.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:38 pm
by eater84
Guil wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:08 pm
eater84 wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:30 am
O5-Chris wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:20 am
Our Support has received cases where the lowered slot caused issues.
In my opinion it's a gamebraker bug, isn't it?
Should be patched asap.
Just say what you want to say instead of trying to bait an answer.
I want to say that it should be patched before I possibly lost my savegame due to a possible crash caused by this bug. At the moment it is impossible to say how many slots I'm using in my savegame.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:40 pm
by Guil
Don't use the extra slots try keep it say 20% under the limit etc.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 1:19 pm
by O5-Chaki
Guil wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 12:40 pm
Don't use the extra slots try keep it say 20% under the limit etc.
That is my recommendation as well.

Re: John Deere S790 - Console slot count - Can we get clarification

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:22 pm
by TacoFarmer
Stegei wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:28 pm
Also the maps don't use as many slots as needed by the system
So just for clarification,the maps still use the same amount of slots and this was just part of the "bug"?