Page 15 of 25

Re: Seasons and LS-modcompany mods

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:49 pm
by george.earlslight
aklein wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:55 pm
As an update I tossed in the animal screen extension last night. worked great. I could buy 40 cows very easy and it showed 40/125 to that mod is a great way to see how many animals you have in any given pen.
Thanks for reporting this.
I deactivated it out of fear of messing things up, but it's too handy to leave out.

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:58 pm
by LS09God
With every new map you install, every game update you apply, you need to build new shader cashes. This takes a lot from the system. After exploring the map for a wile, you will notice the game runs smoother every minute.
With the installment of seasons you need to build those shader cashes again. Takes some time, but it will pass.

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:01 pm
by BoxTunnel
Ah OK, that's great, I was worried I'd have to wait for a decent PC before I could use seasons!

Many thanks.

Re: Seasons - Testing snow ingame?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:13 pm
by Doc3d
Not too different, I think. I didn’t even notice there was a new one. Painting the mask is the same either version as far as I can tell. There is some additional info about increasing the resolution of the mesh which is handy since it makes it a lot easier to place correctly. Otherwise I think you can’t go wrong using the old version.

Re: Seasons and LS-modcompany mods

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:23 pm
by juf.de
Same for me, so thanks aswell.

Re: GIANTS - Oakfield seasons update

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:28 pm
by Wolf Farming
Yeh im waiting but as there’s a long list of mods waiting for testing and it all depends where it is in the queue and how long QA gets through them all and if it passes 1st time. so I’m Chilling on other things for now

Re: Seasons - Months

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:31 pm
by Procobator
In 17 you couldn’t change the seasonal description to months using a GEO. Maybe you can this time around? Idk yet.

Seasons GEO

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:49 pm
by zoli10
Hi!

First of all, I would like to thank you this great mod. I'd like to make a custom GEO, and my question is as follows:
- what does it mean in the crops.xml the following "terms":
- incrementByOneRange
- incrementByRange
- incrementBy

Thank you for your answers, and sorry for my english :)

Re: Seasons - Testing snow ingame?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:05 pm
by OlavEmil
Haha, you're right. I somehow ended up in the Seasons 17 tutorial. That explains why that method didn't work.

Well, that was embarrassing...

Re: Seasons - Months

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:19 pm
by theSeb
george.earlslight wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:55 am
theSeb wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:26 pm
We didn't name them as months on purpose for various reasons. One is that it makes it easier to use the mod with Southern Hemisphere GEOs. Two: if we did then people would be going on about ohh you don't normally plant wheat in *insert month* around where I live. with a period the whole idea is a bit more abstract and thus we can ignore such whining.
Those could be solved if mapmakers named the months relevant to their specific GEO.
The other problem is translation. It’s not just about the English people. So that’s not a solution at all

Re: Seasons - Months

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:21 pm
by theSeb
Victor997 wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:47 pm
Is it still as easy to edit the names of the seasons to months?
Yup. You can do that.

We won’t be making any of the changes suggested here.

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:23 pm
by theSeb
Seasons does put not an insignificant extra strain on a system.

Edit: spelling. duh

Re: Seasons on Ravenport.

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:27 pm
by theSeb
Don’t know what you mean by supervising seasons. No one does it. We work fluently as a team. I’ve project managed occasionally but there is no real need. We never pressure each other, because Seasons is not Part of our jobs. That includes everyone in the team.

Re: Some tips on Seasons crop rotation - Possible spoilers

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:53 pm
by bossmanslim
CriusXD wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:00 pm
I started a new game, and had fallow, fallow on the first field. But when I scanned my fields after harvesting grass, the previous state of the field was cereal, but I planted grass, can you check that?
It is a little complicated and the clarification from Realism isn't great, more so when starting out.

For each field when you start you have:

Prior Previous: crop before that, this would be crop 1 in the planner
Previous: crop before, this would be crop 2
Planted: almost always withered or harvested, this would be crop 3
What you are going to plant: this is crop 4
What you will plant next: this is crop 5
What you will plant after next: this is crop 6

For the above, we don't really care about the yields of crop 1 to 3 because that is historical data.

When starting out, there are two methods from what I can see:

1) Enter in all the above data 1-6 to try and optimize the yield on the field. A second column will need to be used starting at line item 4 of the first column to get a good rotation down once the farm is in a production mode

2) Don't worry about it the first couple of harvests and get into a standard rotation. This is probably the desired method for when fields are merged and had different crops previously, making the rotation hard to figure out; more so when different families were planted previously.

Re: Some tips on Seasons crop rotation - Possible spoilers

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:03 pm
by theSeb
We are not the best at writing manuals. I'll explain why:

1. It's super boring

2. We prefer to not just give everything away. We want you guys to explore

I love this thread. Carry on.