Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

User avatar
GolloG
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: a Ösi

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by GolloG » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:17 pm

please increase the time where grass change to hay.

we play 3 days settings in seasons and if I mow a field and then drive the machine back to the yard and then collect the swaths are there already heap hay in between.

the problem is as follows:

the collector then recognizes grass, hay, grass ..... and thus always deletes the contents of the loading wagon since the giants system fixes the fruit only from 10% onwards.

our settings:
3 days seasons
realtime timescale

Thank you very much
LS PC:
08
09 Gold
11, LS 11 Platin
13 CE, Titanium, Ursus
15 CE, ITRunner DLC, LS 15 GOLD
LS 17 CE
LS 19 CE
-----------------
PC: AMD FX-8350 @8x4000 mit bequiet Dark Rock pro 4, 16GB GSkill Sniper @1866 CL9, EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SuperSC ACX 3.0, 6GB GDDR5, Samsung EVO 850 SSD 500Gb, be quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 (650 Watt), 3x BenQ G2760 27", Logitech G27 und Eigenbau Joystickkonsole

Bcousins10626
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Bcousins10626 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:55 pm

I'm confused if this is a bug or not. I plowed up 4 grass fields on Oakfield farm with an ingame plow. Following plowing, I gained a fertilizer state. Then I planted with an in game planter (no fertilizer) and gained another fertilizer state. Bug or meant to be? Noted that the fields were fallow for the last 2 years. Does that mean I get an automatic 2 fert states after working the fields? Help

User avatar
Rahkiin
GIANTS Software | Gameplay Programmer
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:45 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Rahkiin » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:24 pm

When plowing in a non-harvested crop you gain fertilizer: that's a basegame mechanic.

The other fertilizer state is due to planting of a crop that is advantageous to the soil (crop rotation feature)

FarmerJimbob
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:05 pm
Location: England

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by FarmerJimbob » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:40 pm

GolloG wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:17 pm
please increase the time where grass change to hay.
Mow when the grass is relatively wet and drying conditions are poor. I'd have thought the grass must have been very dry when you mowed it if by the time you drove to the farm and back in real time it turned to hay? I did have this happen but I generally play on 15x with seasons.

User avatar
Rahkiin
GIANTS Software | Gameplay Programmer
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:45 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Rahkiin » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:41 pm

Did you update to 1.0.1? We added a drying delay.

BreadedVirus
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 6:10 am
Location: here, there everywhere

Crop rotation

Post by BreadedVirus » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:33 pm

Is there an in depth guide to the crop rotation?

I have just started planting and no clue how to use the rotation of the crops

Example

I have just planted wheat in field 1 on Oakfield and the previous state was fallow. How do i go forward with the rotation from there?

Image
MasterBox MB500 ATX Mid Tower Case, Asus - PRIME Z390-A ATX LGA1151 Motherboard, Core i5-9600K 3.7 GHz 6-Core Processor , GEFORCE RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB , 24GB RAM, CRYORIG - M9i 48.4 CFM CPU Cooler, 5 Cool Master Jetflo case fans, Samsung 970 Evo plus SSD, 1TB HDD, Win 10, PLAYSTATION 4, T150, T3PA Pro Pedal set, TH8A Shifter
the big print giveth the small print taketh

Phigo
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Crop rotation

Post by Phigo » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:42 pm

Why don't you just try it? This is a planner with no actual affect on your fields. There will be a percantage shown with every Change you make and if it is higher, it is better...
PS4

BiggoB
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by BiggoB » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:47 pm

hi RM,

i would have a question to issue #300 (closed)

the problem lex described there is the same i still have with 1.0.1 and in my second year.

-i started my game (old steam farm) before seasons came out. you recommended a fresh start but i was hoping in my second year it might be fine with the different growing stages.
-the map is not prepared for seasons yet (not sure if this makes a difference)
- when i enabled seasons everything went to the harvested state -> ok

my second map is oakfield:
since oakfield is fully prepared i'll wait until the last stage (before harvesting) will be visible.


do i need to start over?

blue_painted
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Crop rotation

Post by blue_painted » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:48 pm

I'm with OP on this ... I can see that it's a planner/calculator but how does it work? Do you go across the rows? Down the columns? I've tried both ways and I get 0.9 against everything ....
Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... solid 60 fps

bossmanslim
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:13 pm

Re: Crop rotation

Post by bossmanslim » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:48 pm

My recommendation is to just start and treat crop rotation as a long term goal. It is basically, legume, oil, cereal, repeat. You give up some legume harvest to get big bonuses on oil and cereal crops. Grass and cereal can also be rotated to benefit each other. You could try to manage each field independently, but then it gets to be a mess when you combine fields and get a large number of fields.

My approach
1) Purchase and expand field(s) if desired
2) Lime all field(s)
3) Plow if necessary (I don't plant corn, sunflower or root crops)
4) Plant soybeans on everything
5) Fertilize and weed as needed
6) Harvest
7) Fertilize
8) Plant canola on everything
9) Fertilize and weed as needed
10) Harvest
11) Fertilize
12) Plant wheat/barley/oat on everything
13) Fertilize and weed as needed
14) Harvest
15) Fertilize
16) Go to step 1

This keeps all the fields on the same rotation and you always lime at the same time you buy more land before planting soybeans.

Kamoore65536
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 8:25 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Crop rotation

Post by Kamoore65536 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:02 pm

50 years ago as I was growing up in central Illinois we had the following crop rotation; corn, soybeans, wheat. We planted winter wheat after soybeans as the soybeans were harvested in late September. We also might plant Sudan grass in early spring on the soybean fields of the year before to use as silage for the cows.

We just planted the 3 crops and Sudan grass, alfalfa, clover mix for hay and that was it.
Playing on a PS4 & PS4 Pro.
Added a PC at Christmas time.
i7-7700 quad core 3.6GHz(4.2GHz Turbo)
GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
120 GB SATA solid State Drive
1TB SATA III hard Drive

FarmerJimbob
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:05 pm
Location: England

Re: Crop rotation

Post by FarmerJimbob » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:18 pm

blue_painted wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:48 pm
I'm with OP on this ... I can see that it's a planner/calculator but how does it work? Do you go across the rows? Down the columns? I've tried both ways and I get 0.9 against everything ....
Lol, I never even considered it could be row based - I just assumed it worked in columns!!

I'm ignoring crop rotation right now - just done the 1st year of seasons so it didn't really matter what I did and after harvest I extended all the fields so had to plow it all again and then planted crops that will survive the winter. I'm hoping to be able to harvest early enough next year to get soybeans planted in time. I only just managed to get the soybeans grown and harvested in time this year - had a nail-biting wait to see if my seeds for winter crops would germinate before the frost hit!

Crop rotation is a nice feature for those that want that depth to the game but I'd rather plant what I want when I want than follow a rotation, including leaving fields fallow from time to time, to get a slightly better yield.

CombineBert
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by CombineBert » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:36 pm

Farmer Klein has done a vid on crop rotation that may help.
Platform: WIN 10 | Game Version: PC Steam 1.5.1
Devices: Logitech G29 Wheel, peddles & shifter | Logitech Extreme 3D Pro Joystick

Current FS19 Maps:
Greenwich Valley | 6 day Seasons (Dev build 35) | Standard GEO
Lone Oak | 9 Day Seasons | Oregon GEO

User avatar
Rahkiin
GIANTS Software | Gameplay Programmer
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:45 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Rahkiin » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:43 pm

The impact of crop rotation is quite small so just ignoring it works.

The planner is column based.

Regarding issue 300: sometimes growth needs to catch up states due to late planting. This is by design. Its because we work with limited about of growth states and within game limits.

BiggoB
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by BiggoB » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:56 pm

thanks rahkiin. works for me and i just wanted to make sure i didn't break anything ;)

Post Reply