Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3375
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Illinois Farmer » Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:47 pm

His temps, planting, and harvesting times are inaccurate. Midwest geo seems to work. The Minnesota geo seems to be ok also.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

ilovetrains
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by ilovetrains » Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:54 pm

Illinois Farmer wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:47 pm
His temps, planting, and harvesting times are inaccurate. Midwest geo seems to work. The Minnesota geo seems to be ok also.
If I am starting on Spring day 1 - is it OK to change the GEO on a savegame?

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3375
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Illinois Farmer » Mon Feb 10, 2020 11:40 pm

Possibly. Usually winter is the best, but since it is there very beginning it might work.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

User avatar
FarmCatJenkins
Posts: 1464
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by FarmCatJenkins » Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:02 pm

ilovetrains wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:54 pm
Illinois Farmer wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:47 pm
His temps, planting, and harvesting times are inaccurate. Midwest geo seems to work. The Minnesota geo seems to be ok also.
If I am starting on Spring day 1 - is it OK to change the GEO on a savegame?
Yes avoid anything from Adub. Not sure why after repeated complaints Giants keeps pushing his GEOs through. I switched GEOs on my Hazzard County map in day 4 of spring (9 day seasons) from Midwest to the Hazzard County GEO and have not run into any problems, yet...
Farmer since birth. Simulated since ‘15
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Join our Discord!

Xbox: Hodge A Palooza
Steam: FarmCat Jenkins

JohnDeere77
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:11 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by JohnDeere77 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 1:44 pm

Diaryoperation
From the blog its written that cows (Holstein) produce 10,760kg (litres?) of milk per year. From the prices I can see that milk pays up to $700/1000L. So an easy calculation gives that one cow would generate $7000 in milk per year. Correct?

The reason I ask is because I find the amount quite high. And I need a prox calculation in order to see if I have enough funds to start this operation big enough to pay off the loan I need.
Plays on pc, hardmode and loves grinding

User avatar
Rahkiin
GIANTS Software | Gameplay Programmer
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:45 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Rahkiin » Fri Feb 21, 2020 3:20 pm

well, cows tend to produce 40l per day IRL as well. so that is more than 10000 liters (40*350 = 14000). They don't give milk equally all year, so that's how it becomes 10000 liters.

Corstaad
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:14 am

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Corstaad » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:19 pm

I keep getting weeds in my planted grass fields. Are we suppose to spray after every harvest? Also along with the grass topic I'm confused about grass growth so far in Seasons 19. I waited tell early summer to harvest the field. It didn't grow at all in mid summer. Come late summer it sprung up to 33%. My question is this by design? I'm using the Midwest Geo if that matters. I'm trying to figure out the best way to get grass yields for the whole season and I'm kinda confused on best practice so far. Is anyone just cutting at 66% growth and getting four cuttings?

JD92
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by JD92 » Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:01 am

hi guys .. What happens if I plant a crop with incorrect soil temperature?

User avatar
Dairydeere
Posts: 1606
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:11 pm
Location: Eastern Washington, United States
Contact:

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Dairydeere » Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:45 am

It might not germinate. I’m not super sure what the Season mechanics are
Dairy Farmer. John Deere. Dairydeere!
FS 17 on PS4; FS 19 on Epic Games

Currently farming away on FSN
Find me on Discord - Dairydeere #2509
YT Channel- The Carpet Farmer
YT Discord- https://discord.gg/HgWPg2h

If you never ask, the answer is always no.
Have fun with the farmin’!

JD92
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by JD92 » Sat Feb 22, 2020 11:20 am

Dairydeere wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:45 am
It might not germinate. I’m not super sure what the Season mechanics are
The AI in my map plant corn in early spring with an incorrect soil temperature and now is growing without problems. :confusednew: maybe a GEO problem

OlavEmil
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by OlavEmil » Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:12 pm

It will wait until the soil temperature is high enough, then germinate. However, if the temperature becomes too low between planting and germination, the seeds may freeze and die, causing dead patches on the field (or in worst case the whole field failing).

TurboJ
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:42 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by TurboJ » Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:16 am

I've been having some interesting developments in my recent game. Hopefully someone will be able to point me to the right direction in fixing the issue. I don't know if this should be a bug report or if the issue is something else entirely.

So, I've been playing on Kvisslingby 1.1.5.5 map. Check YesMods for links. The map seems to have a built-in custom GEO.

Anyway, my issue is I've been unable to grow my crops to harvest-ready state because for some reason growth is very very slow indeed. Note that I don't have any other mods affecting growth or weather, only Seasons and this map as it is.

FWIW I'm playing 9-day seasons.

In the spring, immediately once the ground temp got to 1 Celcius, I planted some Oat and Canola. Germination was OK and I made sure plowing, lime and all stages of fertilization were optimally done.

During the summer I noticed that the crops weren't growing. All summer long they were stuck at 17% (first growth stage). No drought damage, no freezing, nothing - the weather and temp looked fine all the time. In the first day of mid autumn the crops finally reached second growth stage (33%) - but soon after this ground was already freezing. So there was no way to get any harvesting done. Meanwhile, AI fields showed normal growth and all fields were harvested before winter.

The only thing I could think of is that there wasn't any rain during the summer. BUT, if that was the problem, then shouldn't I be seeing some drought damage on the fields instead of just slowed down growth? (And again, the AI fields were not affected).

So, peculiarly slow crop growth for no apparent reason. I am wondering what could be causing this. Can the GEO be bugged somehow? But wouldn't that affect the entire map and not just my own fields? Also, if the map's built-in GEO is indeed the problem, can I simply override it by installing a different GEO?

I'd really love to be able to play this map as it is a stunning piece of work and so far my favorite one...

User avatar
reallogger
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by reallogger » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:04 pm

TurboJ wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:16 am
I've been having some interesting developments in my recent game. Hopefully someone will be able to point me to the right direction in fixing the issue. I don't know if this should be a bug report or if the issue is something else entirely.

So, I've been playing on Kvisslingby 1.1.5.5 map. Check YesMods for links. The map seems to have a built-in custom GEO.

Anyway, my issue is I've been unable to grow my crops to harvest-ready state because for some reason growth is very very slow indeed. Note that I don't have any other mods affecting growth or weather, only Seasons and this map as it is.

FWIW I'm playing 9-day seasons.

In the spring, immediately once the ground temp got to 1 Celcius, I planted some Oat and Canola. Germination was OK and I made sure plowing, lime and all stages of fertilization were optimally done.

During the summer I noticed that the crops weren't growing. All summer long they were stuck at 17% (first growth stage). No drought damage, no freezing, nothing - the weather and temp looked fine all the time. In the first day of mid autumn the crops finally reached second growth stage (33%) - but soon after this ground was already freezing. So there was no way to get any harvesting done. Meanwhile, AI fields showed normal growth and all fields were harvested before winter.

The only thing I could think of is that there wasn't any rain during the summer. BUT, if that was the problem, then shouldn't I be seeing some drought damage on the fields instead of just slowed down growth? (And again, the AI fields were not affected).

So, peculiarly slow crop growth for no apparent reason. I am wondering what could be causing this. Can the GEO be bugged somehow? But wouldn't that affect the entire map and not just my own fields? Also, if the map's built-in GEO is indeed the problem, can I simply override it by installing a different GEO?

I'd really love to be able to play this map as it is a stunning piece of work and so far my favorite one...
I've looked at the crops.xml file embedded in that map. It is bugged and is the reason for crops not growing past the first stage in summer.

TurboJ
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:42 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by TurboJ » Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:04 pm

Thank you so much!!

So, basically if I replace the crops.xml with a working one, that should solve the issue?

In doing so, is there any compatibility problem or other issue or can I just freely copy/paste that file on there?

User avatar
Dairydeere
Posts: 1606
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:11 pm
Location: Eastern Washington, United States
Contact:

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Dairydeere » Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:10 pm

If there is a crop.xml file similar enough to what you have currently, you should be able to just cut and paste. Just don’t get rid of the old crop.xml file, keep it on hand
Dairy Farmer. John Deere. Dairydeere!
FS 17 on PS4; FS 19 on Epic Games

Currently farming away on FSN
Find me on Discord - Dairydeere #2509
YT Channel- The Carpet Farmer
YT Discord- https://discord.gg/HgWPg2h

If you never ask, the answer is always no.
Have fun with the farmin’!

Post Reply