Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Drmattymd
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: VA, USA

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Drmattymd » Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:30 pm

My mistake. I think I confused tree growth with Cow lifespan
Playing on PC and PS4

JohnDeere77
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:11 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by JohnDeere77 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:41 pm

reallogger wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:16 am
Growth time for trees has always been 5 years. Not sure why some say it was 10 before. It has been unchanged since the very first release for 17. Only reason why growth stops is if there is a another tree too close.
And the limit is 5m? Or more?
Plays on pc, hardmode and loves grinding

User avatar
reallogger
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by reallogger » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:36 pm

If you want unhindered growth the distance to closest tree needs to be 10 m. Anything close than 4.5 m will stop at state 3, closer than 6.5 m will stop at state 4 and closer than 8.5 will stop at state 5. State 6 is fully grown iirc.

User avatar
Miketeg
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:06 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Miketeg » Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:14 pm

Rahkiin wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 2:52 pm
Grass never changed color.
Thanks. I was sure that there was more visual aspect other than trees in FS17 when winter was close to come.

Maikello
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 12:43 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Maikello » Sat Jan 25, 2020 12:54 am

Maikello wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:09 pm
I have a question for devs
1.There is a parameter in crops.xml

Code: Select all

germinatesoilMoisture="5"
5 is the default value. But I changed it to 25 and later to 45 .It looks like it has no effect on the plants. They always germinate, even if the soil moisture is below 12%. It should work or is it a "feature for the future"? :zunge:

2.

Code: Select all

consumesLime="false"
Only for potatos. What happens if I change it? Every time after harvesting potatoes will I have to spread lime?
About potatos
I think I know what's going on. But I can be wrong :mrgreen:
You can harvest potatoes from the same field for XX years and it will never require lime -

Code: Select all

consumesLime="false"
But also if you plant potatoes on a field that requires lime, there will be no loss in yield -

Code: Select all

growthRequiresLime="false"

OlavEmil
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by OlavEmil » Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:24 am

reallogger wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:16 am
Growth time for trees has always been 5 years. Not sure why some say it was 10 before.
Very interesting.

The reason some say it was 10 before, and then changed to 5, is because Rahkiin on Nov 12 answered a question from kintion of how many years it takes for a tree to fully grow with "10". Then, on Dec 18, during a time where Seasons v 1.1 was heavily discussed, Frag was suggesting to change the growth time for trees from 10 to 5 years, upon which you answered "It actually takes 5 years with Seasons now :) ". I am sure every single person who read your comment, knowing of Rahkiin's info a month earlier and the general topic of the thread at the time, read it to mean that growth time for trees had been reduced from 10 to 5 years for v 1.1.

I don't have any opinions on what is correct or not, just an answer to your wondering of why people keep saying that it used to be 10 years. Quotes attached below.

---
Rahkiin wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:37 pm
kintino wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:34 pm
maybe already answered more How long does it take trees to grow completely? This information I did not find in the Seasons manual.

It seems they take many years to grow.
10
reallogger wrote:
Wed Dec 18, 2019 10:52 pm
Frag wrote:
Wed Dec 18, 2019 4:40 pm
I would personally make it 5 years. It would still be a long term investment without making it feel like a cheat."
It actually takes 5 years with Seasons now :)
Last edited by OlavEmil on Sat Jan 25, 2020 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Drmattymd
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: VA, USA

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Drmattymd » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:32 pm

Oh so Im not crazy..lol.. Thanks Olav
Playing on PC and PS4

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 1250
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Illinois Farmer » Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:14 pm

Ok I was thinking the same thing. I knew I heard him say 10 before.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user

gilroy222
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by gilroy222 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:46 pm

Mwal wrote:
Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:31 pm
gilroy222 wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:30 pm
How do you actually sell/remove the horses once you have them?

Playing Lone Oak on PS4 and I cannot sell horses from the horse farm. When I tab to the right the horses will not get highlighted and thus I cannot remove them.
Believe there was a liquid manure trigger mod that was causing some people issues with selling animals. If you are using one try uninstalling those and try again.
Haven't used a liquid manure mod.

JD92
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by JD92 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 10:39 am

hi guys .. it's time for soy but .. I gave the herbicide in the field before sowing .. while sowing I realized that I was consuming fertilizer from the seeder but it had no effect on the field. did I wrong something guys? maybe herbicide nullifies the effect of fertilizer? :confusednew:

juf.de
Posts: 2706
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by juf.de » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:10 am

fertilizer and herbicide both set the field to "sprayed" status, this is indicated by the darker ground texture. If this is the case you can't use fertilizer or herbicide, until ...
... the field is cultivated/ploughed/seeded*, so the ground layer changed and the dark texture vanishes
... lime/manure/ liquid manure/digestate is spreaded, as these add a different layer onto the field, which will remove the dark texture
... the planted fruit went to the next growth state**, as this will remove all previous additional layers***

*) seeded means without seeded without additional fertilizer application
**) except for "ready for harvest", there you can't apply anything
***) if i remember correctly sugar cane and one root crop are buggy
Anleitung für log.txt, Giants Bilderhoster, erweiterter Texteditor, Konsole (PC)
Tutorial for log.txt, Giants Imagehoster, Console commands (PC)
Direktlink Giants Imagehoster
[PC] [Mac] [XB1] [PS4] in the thread title keeps the Forum clean / im Threadtitel hält das Forum übersichtlich
PN nur für persönliche Unterhaltungen. | PM only for personal conversation.
Playing on PC

User avatar
reallogger
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by reallogger » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:23 am

OlavEmil wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:24 am
reallogger wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:16 am
Growth time for trees has always been 5 years. Not sure why some say it was 10 before.
Very interesting.
Indeed. Results of some nice detective work... :D

I should have omitted "now" in my first post cause it has always been 5. Anyhow, case closed :D :D

Phigo
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:30 am

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Phigo » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:31 am

JD92 wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 10:39 am
hi guys .. it's time for soy but .. I gave the herbicide in the field before sowing .. while sowing I realized that I was consuming fertilizer from the seeder but it had no effect on the field. did I wrong something guys? maybe herbicide nullifies the effect of fertilizer? :confusednew:
If i'm not totally wrong preemptive spraying only works after sowing...
PS4 und PC

Alagos
Posts: 1492
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by Alagos » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:53 am

Interesting, reallogger, people have been saying it's 10 years since the FS17 release of Seasons :lol:

User avatar
reallogger
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Seasons mod (op updated re: bug reports)

Post by reallogger » Mon Jan 27, 2020 10:12 am

Alagos wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:53 am
Interesting, reallogger, people have been saying it's 10 years since the FS17 release of Seasons :lol:
People? What people? :confusednew:

Except Rahkiins recent ramblings we have always said 5 years. Perhaps you confuse it with 10 m distance for unhindered tree growth :)

Post Reply