New to Farming

jasonbarron

New to Farming

Post by jasonbarron »

Hi everybody. I'm new to farming, both in the simulator and real life, and find the concept intriguing and overwhelming. I'm struggling with what equipment to purchase, what attaches to what and so forth. There are so many choices haha. As such, I have tons of questions, the first of which is: on a Farm Manager start I bought some land and plowing it, joining two small fields together and sort of extending their borders by plowing the grassy areas around them to essentially create one fairly decent sized plot. When I got out of my tractor to survey the field from the ground the info box informed me that I need to lime the ground, so I hopped back in the tractor and zoomed off to the shop where I purchased a trailer appropriate for spreading fertilizer, *censored* up a pallet of lime and zoomed back to my field.

When I got there, my tractor (medium size, 170hp, narrow tires) refused to pull the trailer through the turned up dirt. Is that a horse power problem, or a tire traction issue? The tractor had no trouble pulling the trailer on the road, for instance, only having trouble with the loose dirt.
bossmanslim

Re: New to Farming

Post by bossmanslim »

Narrow tires have less traction than others tires and plowed dirt has a "roughness" to it that causes the tractor bounce and loose traction.

Options:
1) change tires on tractor to standard or wide; I recommend with weights on either as compaction doesn't exist in the game
2) get a modded attachable spreader (kuhn axis 402) that can do lime and uses the tractors rear 3-point hitch
3) make sure the front weight isn't too big, say 1000kg or less.
jasonbarron

Post by jasonbarron »

Thanks @bossmanslim, I'll give that a try. I know that different tires make sense in the real world, just wasn't sure how in-depth the simulation was. I love the fact that tire choices are important.
SimpleFarmer

Post by SimpleFarmer »