Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

User avatar
FarmCatJenkins
Posts: 1482
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by FarmCatJenkins » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:42 pm

I haven't been on to try it yet but does anyone know if the alfalfa is set up to regrow like grass? I need to make some changes to my GEO and was looking for some feedback. Thanks!
Farmer since birth. Simulated since ‘15
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Join our Discord!

Xbox: Hodge A Palooza
Steam: FarmCat Jenkins

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3997
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:44 pm

I haven't tried it because I'm not playing that map right now, but I thought fsc was using your geo and it grew back.

Edit: I'm using your geo on midwest horizons, but that doesn't have alfalfa.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

User avatar
FarmCatJenkins
Posts: 1482
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by FarmCatJenkins » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:54 pm

Yeah I messed with the geo to make it work, but I think it's regrowth has to be defined in the map files somehow. I'm not sure though

I'm mainly asking because I saw on the changelog for Sandy Bay it states that alfalfa regrows like grass, so I'm assuming it has something to do with a parameter inside the map files somewhere.
Farmer since birth. Simulated since ‘15
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Join our Discord!

Xbox: Hodge A Palooza
Steam: FarmCat Jenkins

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3997
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:55 pm

Yeah, that could be. Maybe the farming agency added it into the map file.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

User avatar
Luftkopf
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:33 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Luftkopf » Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:45 pm

I am using your GEO on Stone Valley, and Alfalfa definitely grows back.

User avatar
Missyb
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:03 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Missyb » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:47 am

FarmCatJenkins wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:54 pm
Yeah I messed with the geo to make it work, but I think it's regrowth has to be defined in the map files somehow. I'm not sure though

I'm mainly asking because I saw on the changelog for Sandy Bay it states that alfalfa regrows like grass, so I'm assuming it has something to do with a parameter inside the map files somewhere.
As LuftKopf has stated it grow's like any normal grass within the geo itself, it taken me while to work it myself.
!Warning I am dislayxic I will type how i think, if you don't understand any of it then please say!

Mods by Missyb FS19
Mods by MissyB Modding
Twitch Missyb Modding

User avatar
FarmCatJenkins
Posts: 1482
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by FarmCatJenkins » Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:14 am

Luftkopf wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:45 pm
I am using your GEO on Stone Valley, and Alfalfa definitely grows back.
Ok thanks. Does it grow ok?

Missyb wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:47 am
As LuftKopf has stated it grow's like any normal grass within the geo itself, it taken me while to work it myself.
Ahh ok. I figured it was part of the coding for the map since it didn’t work on Sandy Bay at first
Farmer since birth. Simulated since ‘15
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Join our Discord!

Xbox: Hodge A Palooza
Steam: FarmCat Jenkins

User avatar
Luftkopf
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:33 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Luftkopf » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:08 am

FarmCatJenkins wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:14 am
Ok thanks. Does it grow ok?
It does. It made me a ton of money turning it into silage, and tossing the bales into the BGA, with MaizePlus enabled. I’ve just got my first cut from my alfalfa field from year 2, and I’m going to see how things go without MaizePlus.

User avatar
FarmCatJenkins
Posts: 1482
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by FarmCatJenkins » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:30 am

How many cuts can you get a year?
Farmer since birth. Simulated since ‘15
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Join our Discord!

Xbox: Hodge A Palooza
Steam: FarmCat Jenkins

Patrick73
Posts: 2014
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:17 am

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Patrick73 » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:54 am

And adding to the above question can you make silage bales out of it? And does it yield more than grass?

User avatar
Luftkopf
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:33 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Luftkopf » Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:35 am

I reckon I got three cuts in my first year, but I didn’t plant as early as I could have. We’ll see how year two goes. I got my first cut done the morning it came ready.

I haven’t done a comparison to grass yet, but I felt that the volume of silage bales was pretty good. I’m trying alfalfa hay in year two, as I’m going to start a dairy, and I’ll get my silage TMR from grass, and hay from the alfalfa. The only problem I have is I can’t find any bale sheds that support alfalfa bales. Hay or silage.

User avatar
Missyb
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:03 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Missyb » Sat Jun 27, 2020 2:47 pm

Luftkopf wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:35 am
I reckon I got three cuts in my first year, but I didn’t plant as early as I could have. We’ll see how year two goes. I got my first cut done the morning it came ready.

I haven’t done a comparison to grass yet, but I felt that the volume of silage bales was pretty good. I’m trying alfalfa hay in year two, as I’m going to start a dairy, and I’ll get my silage TMR from grass, and hay from the alfalfa. The only problem I have is I can’t find any bale sheds that support alfalfa bales. Hay or silage.
you mite want try the storage shed from GtX and add in Alfalfa in the xml.
!Warning I am dislayxic I will type how i think, if you don't understand any of it then please say!

Mods by Missyb FS19
Mods by MissyB Modding
Twitch Missyb Modding

Goose66
Posts: 889
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Goose66 » Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:35 pm

Patrick73 wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:54 am
And adding to the above question can you make silage bales out of it? And does it yield more than grass?
Yields way more and yes with can make silage and hay with it
Playing on PC....Hollandscheveld maizeplus map
Suffolk, England
Discord ...Goose66

Dimitris Blackfoot
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:52 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Dimitris Blackfoot » Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:24 pm

Does this geo work with other maps or only with stone valley?I tested it in vorpomern rugen on ps4 but it doesn't add the alfalfa and rye fruit types.Thank you in advance

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3997
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Stone Valley 2x Alfalfa Question

Post by Illinois Farmer » Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:25 pm

There fruit types have to be added to the map.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

Post Reply