Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

blue_painted
Posts: 695
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by blue_painted » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:46 pm

Illinois Farmer wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:31 pm
Anhydrous is actually Anhydrous ammonia. Says it on the tanks ha.
I guessed you didn't mean anhydrous copper sulphate, anhydrous sodium chloride or anhydrous calcium sulphate :)
Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... (and sometimes £200 laptop)

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3997
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:00 pm

Haha no I don't even know what that is haha. I have heard of each of them just not with anhydrous associated with them ha.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

blue_painted
Posts: 695
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by blue_painted » Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:19 pm

Illinois Farmer wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:00 pm
Haha no I don't even know what that is haha. I have heard of each of them just not with anhydrous associated with them ha.
"anhydrous" means "contains no water", anhydrous ammonia is usually gaseous.
Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... (and sometimes £200 laptop)

DirectCedar
Posts: 831
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:47 am

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DirectCedar » Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:34 pm

blue_painted wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:19 pm
Illinois Farmer wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:00 pm
Haha no I don't even know what that is haha. I have heard of each of them just not with anhydrous associated with them ha.
"anhydrous" means "contains no water", anhydrous ammonia is usually gaseous.
Anhydrous ammonia indeed contains no water, as, of course, as you point out, that is precisely the definition of the adjective “anhydrous”. However it is not gaseous during storage and application from the big white pressure vessel tanks that you traditionally see it in when used in agriculture. Those tanks are for keeping the product at approximate 75 psi pressure and -50ish C temperature, under which conditions it is liquid ammonia. At atmospheric temperature and pressure it vaporizes, hence why it appears gaseous when escaping from the ground or from a storage vessel. However the intent is to keep it liquid during storage and application, until it can bind with moisture in the soil and become the less volatile ammonium ion.

User avatar
KCHARRO
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by KCHARRO » Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:47 pm

Hi guys, something similar happened to me because I use a GEO that allows me to collect twice a year with seasons, In FS17 it was called Aichi, I took the data from the Crops.xml and put it in seasons, in summer I plant corn and soybeans them which I collect in autumn, then I can sow Wheat, Barley, Oats and the rest, and collect the following year in Summer, and so it repeats. I started using Precision Farming in the middle of the year, I sowed in autumn, the following summer I obtained an excellent yield, even in some areas of the fields it was at 132%, then when planting soybeans I noticed that it did not fertilize, leaving the Nitrogen at 40- 80Kg / H, I thought it was a problem with the DLC, but I went to investigate here and saw this thread and doubts have already been clarified ...

Last night I planted the fields with soybeans, today after work I will start collecting and I will see the issue of nitrogen, if it rises or falls.

I have not tried with corn, but soybeans are not fertilized, (use in automatic) and it says it does not need it ...

Otherwise, the DLC is great, and easy to integrate into users' maps.

User avatar
redglasses
Posts: 5814
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Farming land, Canada

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by redglasses » Sat Dec 12, 2020 1:57 am

The problem with soybeans not wanting any nitrogen is there is no way to remove leftover nitrogen from the previous crop, so how are we supposed to obtain the best yield for soybeans?
Playing on xbox one
Upload your screenshots here: IMG server
My Discord
Remember there is no need to spread your manure around the forums :wink3:
Jack of all trades, master of the skid steer

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Sat Dec 12, 2020 1:59 am

redglasses wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 1:57 am
The problem with soybeans not wanting any nitrogen is there is no way to remove leftover nitrogen from the previous crop, so how are we supposed to obtain the best yield for soybeans?
Flip the beans until its zero lol dedicated bean field lol
I'm on PC - the superior platform

User avatar
redglasses
Posts: 5814
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Farming land, Canada

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by redglasses » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:01 am

Ya but I double crop my fields like the person above. Beans and corn planted in spring/summer and wheat and canola planted in fall.
Playing on xbox one
Upload your screenshots here: IMG server
My Discord
Remember there is no need to spread your manure around the forums :wink3:
Jack of all trades, master of the skid steer

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:26 am

redglasses wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:01 am
Ya but I double crop my fields like the person above. Beans and corn planted in spring/summer and wheat and canola planted in fall.
Sounds like you're farming quite the pickle then :lol:
I'm on PC - the superior platform

User avatar
ThatCanadianGuy
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:14 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by ThatCanadianGuy » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:29 am

Beans on beans wouldn't work, they are 0 needed 0 out, I have seen claims they add N but I am testing that myself.

I am having trouble getting my mind around beans also. They need 0 but aside from under fertilizing the previous crop there is no way to lower N values, which would be the dumbest thing Giants has ever done if that is the case.
I am seeding beans on barley stubble and will put canola on after that so I will see what happens on my map. The issue is I am running large fields so my crop years can take days to complete.
Former real life farmer of lentils, mustard, and wheat on the Canadian prairies.

Mwal
Posts: 1926
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Mwal » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:48 am

redglasses wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 1:57 am
The problem with soybeans not wanting any nitrogen is there is no way to remove leftover nitrogen from the previous crop, so how are we supposed to obtain the best yield for soybeans?
You aren’t, that’s real life farming. You can have these giant yields but as you are finding out that costs you more in the long run because you’re forced to reduce the yields of other crops or not plant anything in those fields in off years. Look at it this way, pick your cash crop and then rotate the others in to compliment that particular crop.

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:54 am

I'm on my 5th iteration of beans on field 4 on the alpine map (6 day seasons, USA simplified geo). In the precision map, pH shows normally. After my first harvest, a very large portion of the nitrogen map disappeared. Each harvest since, more has disappeared. Currently the nitrogen map looks identical to an unowned, untested field, on the other side of the map. Beans on beans bro.
I'm on PC - the superior platform

Drmattymd
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: VA, USA

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Drmattymd » Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:19 am

redglasses wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:01 am
Ya but I double crop my fields like the person above. Beans and corn planted in spring/summer and wheat and canola planted in fall.
That isnt double cropping. Double cropping is two harvests in the same year. For example harvesting wheat in the summer, then planting beans and harvesting in the fall.
Playing on PC and PS4

User avatar
Farmercaseih
Posts: 1227
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Farmercaseih » Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:49 am

Mwal wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:01 pm
It’s complicated and I will start with saying I learned this from an agronomist but I’m not nearly as smart as him and will do my best to explain it. Soybeans create there own nitrogen this is correct but they don’t really leave much if anything behind. They just contain it in a higher level in the plant so organisms that eat it don’t eat it from the soil the get what the need from the plant. Some people get confused when the see people putting starter fertilizer on but it’s things like phosphorus that help with beans in starter fertilizer. As far as putting nitrogen onto beans places with high yielding beans (further south than us) have been putting it on when the soybean plant is making pods and have seen increased yields but I can’t speak to this as we were told when people with lower yielding beans like us because of how far north we are and the different type we have to grow don’t see a profitable yield increase when applying nitrogen at the same stage. Maybe Illinoisfarmer or farmercaseih can speak more to this than me since they grow further south.
All we spray on our beans when they are growing is Liberty. We would have had really good beans this year, but we had a drought and they didn't fill out as well. I haven't heard of anyone putting nitrogen on beans like that

Deereslayer
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Deereslayer » Sat Dec 12, 2020 4:07 am

Plant beans after corn or wheat, there will be no nitrogen left.

Post Reply