Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:33 am

So I surveyed the field, got all my data. Put down lime to get the proper pH. Fertilized to get the proper nitrogen levels. Ended up with a phenomenal yield. Awesome. That was the first time the field was worked.

Since then a vast majority of the field on both the menu map and the pda show the vast majority of the field as blank on the nitrogen levels. No color coded nothing. Some spots around the edges show some green/yellow areas which is cool but there's nothing in about 80% of the field.

Any idea why a large area of the field is showing up basically as vanilla on the map and pda?

I'm on the alpine map, modhub mods only, no noticeable conflicts anywhere else. And as I said before, the first working if the field was flawless, now on my 4th seeding.

Edit: field 4 on alpine map, 4th seeding, all soybeans
I'm on PC - the superior platform

User avatar
redglasses
Posts: 5814
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Farming land, Canada

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by redglasses » Fri Dec 11, 2020 7:18 am

Soybeans have a bug where they want a 0 nitrogen level for optimum yield and leave behind 0 nitrogen after harvest.
Playing on xbox one
Upload your screenshots here: IMG server
My Discord
Remember there is no need to spread your manure around the forums :wink3:
Jack of all trades, master of the skid steer

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:13 am

Interesting....glad to know it's not some wack mod conflict.

Highly recommend watching Farmer Klein's 3 part tutorial on the DLC. He did a great job breaking everything down and explaining it.
I'm on PC - the superior platform

Eische
Posts: 2334
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:17 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Eische » Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:35 am

redglasses wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 7:18 am
Soybeans have a bug where they want a 0 nitrogen level for optimum yield and leave behind 0 nitrogen after harvest.
I already wrote a bug report and got a reply.
This is as intended. Soybeans do not need additional nitrogen in reality as they grab is out of the air.
Playing on PC - Win10 - AMD only
How to post log file
How to upload pictures

Ado239
Posts: 192
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:57 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Ado239 » Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:59 am

Eische wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 11:35 am
redglasses wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 7:18 am
Soybeans have a bug where they want a 0 nitrogen level for optimum yield and leave behind 0 nitrogen after harvest.
I already wrote a bug report and got a reply.
This is as intended. Soybeans do not need additional nitrogen in reality as they grab is out of the air.
Thats great to know. Thanks
PS4 player. Case is ace but fear the Deere! *thumbsup*

User avatar
DMZ Commander
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:24 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by DMZ Commander » Fri Dec 11, 2020 12:08 pm

So keep flipping soybeans with seed only for ridiculous profits lol sounds good to me
I'm on PC - the superior platform

soccerhate
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:44 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by soccerhate » Fri Dec 11, 2020 12:39 pm

DMZ Commander wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:33 am
So I surveyed the field, got all my data. Put down lime to get the proper pH. Fertilized to get the proper nitrogen levels. Ended up with a phenomenal yield. Awesome. That was the first time the field was worked.

Since then a vast majority of the field on both the menu map and the pda show the vast majority of the field as blank on the nitrogen levels. No color coded nothing. Some spots around the edges show some green/yellow areas which is cool but there's nothing in about 80% of the field.

Any idea why a large area of the field is showing up basically as vanilla on the map and pda?

I'm on the alpine map, modhub mods only, no noticeable conflicts anywhere else. And as I said before, the first working if the field was flawless, now on my 4th seeding.

Edit: field 4 on alpine map, 4th seeding, all soybeans
Hold on. Isn't it the 3d harvest that makes data obsolete, and you're back on to your Isaria scouting?

Also, as mentioned above, soybeans don't need additional fertilizer, they actually should enrich the soil with it after harvest a bit.

User avatar
aklein
Posts: 816
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:04 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by aklein » Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:11 pm

In part 3 of my series I demonstrate that soybeans add 40 kg/ha back into the field post harvest which is accurate. Not sure about the accuracy of the amount they put back but the fact they do is accurate. This is one reason farmers in the US will plant them directly behind a Wheat/Barley harvest with out fertilizer as soybeans dont really need it and when they are done harvest they have enriched the soil so that the following crop, usually corn, requires less nitrogen application to the soil because the beans enriched the soil somewhat.

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3996
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:35 pm

Yes that's correct. That's also why you only put anhydrous (nh3) down on corn ground. Corn needs the nitrogen. Corn crop is better where beans were before vs corn on corn. Plus it helps hauling a lot of manure on bean ground after harvest. That's already why you rotate crops because didn't ones use different nutrients and put back different nutrients into the ground.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

Mwal
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Mwal » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:01 pm

It’s complicated and I will start with saying I learned this from an agronomist but I’m not nearly as smart as him and will do my best to explain it. Soybeans create there own nitrogen this is correct but they don’t really leave much if anything behind. They just contain it in a higher level in the plant so organisms that eat it don’t eat it from the soil the get what the need from the plant. Some people get confused when the see people putting starter fertilizer on but it’s things like phosphorus that help with beans in starter fertilizer. As far as putting nitrogen onto beans places with high yielding beans (further south than us) have been putting it on when the soybean plant is making pods and have seen increased yields but I can’t speak to this as we were told when people with lower yielding beans like us because of how far north we are and the different type we have to grow don’t see a profitable yield increase when applying nitrogen at the same stage. Maybe Illinoisfarmer or farmercaseih can speak more to this than me since they grow further south.

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3996
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:11 pm

I have never done, seen, or heard of anyone around here putting nitrogen on their beans when the pods are forming. We get usually 65 to 90 bushels/ acre of beans. Channel is always happy when we report our yields back for them. I don't think it would cost effective to try and add it back. What I have seen a growing trend in is spraying cobra on the beans. Cobra kills weeds but also burns down the bean plant. Supposedly when it grows back it will give you a better yield. It looks terrible after they get burned down.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

User avatar
vondeylenfarms
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:53 pm
Location: USA, Ohio

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by vondeylenfarms » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:22 pm

Only thing we spray on in beans is for weeds... nitrogen/fertilizer is for corn
Vondeylen Farms Ohio, U.S.
1000 acres, family farm, huge Case IH guy(however mostly John Deere now)

Platform-PS4
Welker Farms 475hrs counting
Large JD Farm with corn and soybeans always looking for multiplayer
https://www.youtube.com/user/vondeylen22

Mwal
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Mwal » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:23 pm

https://extension.sdstate.edu/late-seas ... en-soybean
There’s an article that explains it better

blue_painted
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by blue_painted » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:26 pm

Illinois Farmer wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:35 pm
Yes that's correct. That's also why you only put anhydrous (nh3) down on corn ground. Corn needs the nitrogen. Corn crop is better where beans were before vs corn on corn. Plus it helps hauling a lot of manure on bean ground after harvest. That's already why you rotate crops because didn't ones use different nutrients and put back different nutrients into the ground.
When you say "anhydrous" do you mean anhydrous lime? NH3 is ammonia.
Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... (and sometimes £200 laptop)

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 3996
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Precision DLC Nitrogen Issue

Post by Illinois Farmer » Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:31 pm

Anhydrous is actually Anhydrous ammonia. Says it on the tanks ha.
1280 acre farm, 3300 hogs, 200 cattle, and xbox one user and pc user.

Post Reply