Maize plus + Forage Extension + Precision Farming + Seasons cows feed rate question.

Hoffa82

Maize plus + Forage Extension + Precision Farming + Seasons cows feed rate question.

Post by Hoffa82 »

Hello everyone.

I have a question about feeding my cows, and since I have no experience of cattle IRL I'm turning to the community once again.

Not to turn it in to a novel, here are the numbers.

20 dairy cows eating approximately 96 000 L feed per year, according to seasons info tab.
First cut from 3.5ha grass field yields approximately 200 000 L of fresh grass for the clamp.

So if I get at least one more cut, I can feed my cows for more then four years of 3.5ha.

As said, I have no experience IRL with cows, but does this reflect real life somewhat?
I understand that it can't simulate 100 percent how it works for real, but is this even close?

I run 12 day seasons, if that makes any difference.

I'v tried to educate myself, but the math is somewhat confusing when all real information is in tonnes and in game everything is in litre.

Thanks and stay safe.
JensChrDK

Re: Maize plus + Forage Extension + Precision Farming + Seasons cows feed rate question.

Post by JensChrDK »

I haven't got much real life experience myself - but first of all, 20 cows ain't that many..
Been playing WAAAAY to many hours - PC with Logitech G27 and Thrustmaster Simtask Farmstick
Hoffa82

Re: Maize plus + Forage Extension + Precision Farming + Seasons cows feed rate question.

Post by Hoffa82 »

Yes, I know 20 isn't many, but I'm starting small, and it's a small farm. I try to play somewhat realistic and I don't want to cram 200 cows into a tiny cowshed made for perhaps 40-50 max.
JensChrDK

Post by JensChrDK »

Then you could see it as if your field was made for 150-200 cows, and you don't have to cut it all.. Or cut it all, sell most and keep what you need for your cows.