Looking to Improve FPS on Low-End System

Dairydeere

Looking to Improve FPS on Low-End System

Post by Dairydeere »

So, I've seen this topic brought up many times, how people can't get any decent FPS out of the game and it's not optimized. I combed through this forum briefly and couldn't really find anything that was going to help my situation, so I'm going to start a new thread about this.

My situation is I run a laptop hardly acceptable for FS, and I'm not very good at configuring graphic settings. My game runs at 20FPS maximum, and in the usual farm layout I design, it's about 8FPS. I'm basically looking for any tips or tricks to help me getting my FPS up. Even if it means I can look at my farmyard and get 12-15FPS instead of 8FPS, I would be grateful for that. My PC specs are below...

Computer Model - Lenovo Yoga 730-15"
CPU - Intel Core i5-8250U
GPU - Intel UHD Graphics 620

Edit: I realized afterwards people may be wondering what my graphic settings are. I run standard medium settings with realistic beacons set to On.
Dairy farmer, college student, part-time modder, always looking to drive a tractor

Discord Server
Facebook page

Where should you download mods from? Try this! - A Guide to Respectful Downloads and Original Mods

Driving up a wall because my brain turned off the gravity

Happy farming!
don_apple

Re: Looking to Improve FPS on Low-End System

Post by don_apple »

TBH. you are lucky that the game runs at all, since the GPU is waaay below the minimum system requirements.

The 'Intel UHD Graphics 620' is an on-board graphics chip without any dedicated VRAM (it uses the system RAM instead which is much slower than VRAM), and therefore it is not suited at all for gaming.

The only recommendations to improve the FPS therefore would be the following:
- use the lowest possible graphics settings
- don't use any mods at all
- only play on the two standard maps provided by the game (the Erlengrat map of the Aline DLC might already be too much)