How is it after the first day

george.earlslight
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:45 am
Location: Europe

Re: Seasons and LS-modcompany mods

Post by george.earlslight » Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:49 pm

aklein wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:55 pm
As an update I tossed in the animal screen extension last night. worked great. I could buy 40 cows very easy and it showed 40/125 to that mod is a great way to see how many animals you have in any given pen.
Thanks for reporting this.
I deactivated it out of fear of messing things up, but it's too handy to leave out.

User avatar
LS09God
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:38 am
Location: Netherlands.

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Post by LS09God » Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:58 pm

With every new map you install, every game update you apply, you need to build new shader cashes. This takes a lot from the system. After exploring the map for a wile, you will notice the game runs smoother every minute.
With the installment of seasons you need to build those shader cashes again. Takes some time, but it will pass.
Specs:
Asrock 990FX Extreme 3 mobo.
AMD FX-8320 Eight core processor.
Corsair 16Gb DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) internal mem.
Sandisk 256Gb SSD as boot and game drive.
Samsung 1Tb hdd for general storage.
Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 1070 graphics card.
Razer Naga Chroma mouse.
Logitech G27, G13. Thrustmaster HOTAS.
Razer BlackWidow Keyboard.
Fiber connection.

User avatar
BoxTunnel
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 10:26 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK.

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Post by BoxTunnel » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:01 pm

Ah OK, that's great, I was worried I'd have to wait for a decent PC before I could use seasons!

Many thanks.

Doc3d
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:37 pm

Re: Seasons - Testing snow ingame?

Post by Doc3d » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:13 pm

Not too different, I think. I didn’t even notice there was a new one. Painting the mask is the same either version as far as I can tell. There is some additional info about increasing the resolution of the mesh which is handy since it makes it a lot easier to place correctly. Otherwise I think you can’t go wrong using the old version.

juf.de
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Seasons and LS-modcompany mods

Post by juf.de » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:23 pm

Same for me, so thanks aswell.
Tutorials: log.txt, Giants Bilderhoster, erweiterter Texteditor, Konsole (PC)    /    Direktlink Giants Imagehoster
[PC] [Mac] [XB1] [PS4] in the thread title keeps the Forum clean / im Threadtitel hält das Forum übersichtlich
Playing on PC

Wolf Farming
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: GIANTS - Oakfield seasons update

Post by Wolf Farming » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:28 pm

Yeh im waiting but as there’s a long list of mods waiting for testing and it all depends where it is in the queue and how long QA gets through them all and if it passes 1st time. so I’m Chilling on other things for now
Steam: Grey Wolf
Pc/Xbox one (rarely)
Farming simulator 15,17,19
Currently playing: Oakfield farm with seasons
Fav tractor: challenger

Procobator
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: Seasons - Months

Post by Procobator » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:31 pm

In 17 you couldn’t change the seasonal description to months using a GEO. Maybe you can this time around? Idk yet.

zoli10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:07 am

Seasons GEO

Post by zoli10 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:49 pm

Hi!

First of all, I would like to thank you this great mod. I'd like to make a custom GEO, and my question is as follows:
- what does it mean in the crops.xml the following "terms":
- incrementByOneRange
- incrementByRange
- incrementBy

Thank you for your answers, and sorry for my english :)

OlavEmil
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: Seasons - Testing snow ingame?

Post by OlavEmil » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:05 pm

Haha, you're right. I somehow ended up in the Seasons 17 tutorial. That explains why that method didn't work.

Well, that was embarrassing...

User avatar
theSeb
Posts: 987
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Seasons - Months

Post by theSeb » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:19 pm

george.earlslight wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:55 am
theSeb wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:26 pm
We didn't name them as months on purpose for various reasons. One is that it makes it easier to use the mod with Southern Hemisphere GEOs. Two: if we did then people would be going on about ohh you don't normally plant wheat in *insert month* around where I live. with a period the whole idea is a bit more abstract and thus we can ignore such whining.
Those could be solved if mapmakers named the months relevant to their specific GEO.
The other problem is translation. It’s not just about the English people. So that’s not a solution at all
http://www.realismusmodding.com

Knowledge should be shared and open so don't PM me for Seasons support. *thumbsup*

User avatar
theSeb
Posts: 987
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Seasons - Months

Post by theSeb » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:21 pm

Victor997 wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:47 pm
Is it still as easy to edit the names of the seasons to months?
Yup. You can do that.

We won’t be making any of the changes suggested here.
http://www.realismusmodding.com

Knowledge should be shared and open so don't PM me for Seasons support. *thumbsup*

User avatar
theSeb
Posts: 987
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Seasons bug or ancient PC?

Post by theSeb » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:23 pm

Seasons does put not an insignificant extra strain on a system.

Edit: spelling. duh
Last edited by theSeb on Fri Jul 26, 2019 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.realismusmodding.com

Knowledge should be shared and open so don't PM me for Seasons support. *thumbsup*

User avatar
theSeb
Posts: 987
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Seasons on Ravenport.

Post by theSeb » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:27 pm

Don’t know what you mean by supervising seasons. No one does it. We work fluently as a team. I’ve project managed occasionally but there is no real need. We never pressure each other, because Seasons is not Part of our jobs. That includes everyone in the team.
http://www.realismusmodding.com

Knowledge should be shared and open so don't PM me for Seasons support. *thumbsup*

bossmanslim
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:13 pm

Re: Some tips on Seasons crop rotation - Possible spoilers

Post by bossmanslim » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:53 pm

CriusXD wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:00 pm
I started a new game, and had fallow, fallow on the first field. But when I scanned my fields after harvesting grass, the previous state of the field was cereal, but I planted grass, can you check that?
It is a little complicated and the clarification from Realism isn't great, more so when starting out.

For each field when you start you have:

Prior Previous: crop before that, this would be crop 1 in the planner
Previous: crop before, this would be crop 2
Planted: almost always withered or harvested, this would be crop 3
What you are going to plant: this is crop 4
What you will plant next: this is crop 5
What you will plant after next: this is crop 6

For the above, we don't really care about the yields of crop 1 to 3 because that is historical data.

When starting out, there are two methods from what I can see:

1) Enter in all the above data 1-6 to try and optimize the yield on the field. A second column will need to be used starting at line item 4 of the first column to get a good rotation down once the farm is in a production mode

2) Don't worry about it the first couple of harvests and get into a standard rotation. This is probably the desired method for when fields are merged and had different crops previously, making the rotation hard to figure out; more so when different families were planted previously.

User avatar
theSeb
Posts: 987
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:16 pm

Re: Some tips on Seasons crop rotation - Possible spoilers

Post by theSeb » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:03 pm

We are not the best at writing manuals. I'll explain why:

1. It's super boring

2. We prefer to not just give everything away. We want you guys to explore

I love this thread. Carry on.
http://www.realismusmodding.com

Knowledge should be shared and open so don't PM me for Seasons support. *thumbsup*

Locked