Changing a geo

newride
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:47 am

Changing a geo

Post by newride » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:08 pm

What do I need to change in a geo so I can combine during the winter?

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Changing a geo

Post by Illinois Farmer » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:38 pm

Use one of adub's geos. Geos are supposed to be realistic and combining in the middle of winter in unrealistic.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

newride
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Changing a geo

Post by newride » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:29 pm

Where I live in North Dakota it is a very realistic thing to be combine corn threw the winter

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Changing a geo

Post by Illinois Farmer » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:40 pm

I have uncles in northern north Dakota and there is no way they can combine the beans, wheat, or canola when there is feet of snow and way below freezing temperatures. Will you work in December, yeah, we do here sometimes. That's why I said middle of winter.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

newride
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Changing a geo

Post by newride » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:01 am

ok I will specify what i want to do i want to be able to combine corn during the winter.
Yes i know you cant combine if there is feet of snow but where i live we only got maybe a foot of snow.
Farmers around here started combining corn January 15th and are still combining here so i know what can and cant be combined during the winter months.

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Changing a geo

Post by Illinois Farmer » Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:39 am

In north Dakota, you start combining corn in January? Must terrible yielding and quality.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

newride
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Changing a geo

Post by newride » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:18 am

Not every year but the way this fall was it rained every week then we got a big snow storm. drying corn when its 28% and over is not a very good idea so you just wait for it dry down. Guys up here are combining soybeans that they had to leave last fall and you can't even tell they were left over the winter they look awesome and maybe lost a couple bushel to the acre from the snow.

Illinois Farmer
Posts: 1787
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:34 pm

Re: Changing a geo

Post by Illinois Farmer » Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:05 am

That makes more sense because this fall was brutal.
1280 acre farm, 3000 hogs, 200 cattle, 16 ewes,1 ram, 30 lambs, and xbox one user and newly pc user.

User avatar
kinggorillakong
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Changing a geo

Post by kinggorillakong » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:54 pm

You need to change the temperature maximum and precipitation amount for the phases you want to have warmer with less chances of snow. It might take some trial and error to get the settings just right for that kind of a winter, but what you're asking for sounds like a winter anomaly. Why not just disable the setting that prevents you from combining when the crop is too wet during winter?

Post Reply