Mac M1 and FS19

jfalky
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:39 pm

Mac M1 and FS19

Post by jfalky » Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:46 pm

I am probably going to get shot down for this, but...

Is anyone using FS19 on a new M1 powered Mac?

I use Mac for video and photo editing, current iMac is a 2011 so is well out of date and won't run FS19 as it won't support Metal, which is a shame as its a fairly powerful machine! So currently running it on a laptop that isn't really up to it (2.5GHz i5 and 8 GB RAM with no dedicated graphics), it loves to get extremely hot and takes an age to load a game with anything more than a few machines in. I am looking at going down the Mac Mini route with the new M1 chip that seems to be ticking all the boxes on value for money and power and allows me to get a separate screen which will allow me to then run a PC alongside it in future (may or may not happen, it depends on a few things coming off for work!)

I am assuming it should support FS19 okay?

TIA

User avatar
don_apple
Moderator
Posts: 6323
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by don_apple » Fri Nov 27, 2020 2:40 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum!

There is a report by somebody over in the german section who already tried running FS19 on a Mac with the new M1 chip, but discovered the the game is frequently crashing: viewtopic.php?f=956&t=173517

The main issue here will be that the game was written for intel processors, but the M1 processor is 'ARM' based, which means it has to emulate all the Intel specific code.
Gruß/Regards,
don_apple

Apple iMac 27" (late 2013), Quad-Core i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB, Nvidia GTX 780M
Bitte benutzt das öffentliche Forum für Supportfragen und nicht PN/Please use the public forum for support questions and not PM
log.txt Image Server Forenregeln Board rules

Jsammy23
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Jsammy23 » Sun Nov 29, 2020 7:46 pm

I'm actually in the same boat as the OP.
One thing to mention about the results from the German game version is that he said graphics were top notch on the Mac mini with M1 until the game crashes. I am very hopeful for the future of FS19 on the apple silicon chips and will be buying a Mac mini soon to try this out on myself.

This is the future of apple, so for the game to continue to be played on that OS we will have to adapt.

jfalky
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by jfalky » Sun Nov 29, 2020 9:43 pm

Thanks for the replies!

I have had a quick read of the German thread thanks to Google translate, as said above, the poster who has tried it seems to say it works really well until it crashes set to maximum on graphics settings, so could be to do with too high settings for the M1 to handle for now using the emulator?

The M1 seems to have loads of potential and all the reviews of it on YouTube seem to back this up, that it has massive power, and the Mini seems to be great value for money! a late Christmas present to myself in January I reckon!

User avatar
iwan073
Posts: 1709
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by iwan073 » Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:27 am

don_apple wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 2:40 pm
Hello and welcome to the forum!

There is a report by somebody over in the german section who already tried running FS19 on a Mac with the new M1 chip, but discovered the the game is frequently crashing: viewtopic.php?f=956&t=173517

The main issue here will be that the game was written for intel processors, but the M1 processor is 'ARM' based, which means it has to emulate all the Intel specific code.
Think you mean X86 chips.
Cause AMD processors run FS as well, not just Intel
Farming Simulator 15, 17 & 19 on the PlayStation 4 Pro
Farming Simulator 19 (and soon 22) on the PlayStation 5

Seppalie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:06 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Seppalie » Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:20 pm

I ran a MAC with M1 processor and also the FS19 with the resolution 2560x1440. The achieved refresh rates are better than with my iMac Pro. Since the FS19 was programmed for x86 architecture, the application is compiled via Rosetta 2. This seems to cause an error which crashes FS19 after a short time.
Reducing the image settings does not bring any improvement.
Thereupon I wrote to the Giants support and asked for a possible adaptation to the ARM architecture. Unfortunately I have to hear again and again that my Intel graphics is too weak. Which Intel graphics? Did I miss something?
Apparently, the support seems to have overslept the development at Apple and is constantly writing the same nonsense.
Since Apple will probably switch all their computers to ARM in the future, it can only be a matter of time until FS is adapted or set for MAC.
Probably Windows will run on the ARM processor before that.

I am still in good luck that Giants finds a capable head in the support department who gives me a reasonable and technically correct statement.

If one of you knows more, let me know!

User avatar
FSarndrone
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:31 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by FSarndrone » Mon Nov 30, 2020 7:50 pm

Might not be the M1 ..I have a 16 inch Mac and when I played fs on it it would crash after a little or even on start up but then I got boot camp ( which is basically that you can run windows on a Mac and switch between the two) and that runs it fine (the windows side that is). So it might just be a thing with macs
I love multiplayer :mrgreen: and John Deere :coolnew: I am known as TNT gaming on silver news’s server

Seppalie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:06 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Seppalie » Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:17 pm

FSarndrone wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 7:50 pm
Might not be the M1 ..I have a 16 inch Mac and when I played fs on it it would crash after a little or even on start up but then I got boot camp ( which is basically that you can run windows on a Mac and switch between the two) and that runs it fine (the windows side that is). So it might just be a thing with macs
I think it's not a basic MAC problem. As I said, on my iMac Pro the LS19 runs without crashes. I also don't remember any frequent crashes on my last MacBook Pro 15.
Besides, it would be a damn shame if Giants could distribute an unstable version for so long.
The M1 is not really the problem either. The software has not been adapted to the ARM architecture yet and Rosetta 2 is "only" an emulation environment to run x86 compatible software on the processor. The fact that thereby errors can develop, is nearly normal with the still recent market availability.
Does Giants not have a solution for your crash problems?

I want to know about Giants: Will there be a future native version of FS19 running on the MAC ARM processor?

Lexie
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:02 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Lexie » Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:07 pm

I don't think you will see an official answer on this soon. Consoles and PC's are running x86, so it means they have to port the game to be able to run on ARM. They did port FS17 to Switch, but they did not with 19 and bring the mobile version instead. So no, I don't think you can expect a native version for ARM soon. It's a miracle they do have a version for MAC, but now they have to so support a different architecture too. So my guess, they will not bring any new version for MAC in future, just x86 versions for console and Windows.

Also don't expect any updates to the game to run on ARM by emulation. It's up to Apple to give better support and better stability with emulation, but emulation always has many downsides so Apple takes a big risk here.

blue_painted
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by blue_painted » Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:21 pm

Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... (and sometimes £200 laptop)

Lexie
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:02 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Lexie » Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:30 pm

Exactly and playing games on an Apple ARM, what the hell are we even talking about.... :lol:

Jsammy23
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 7:42 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by Jsammy23 » Tue Dec 01, 2020 7:01 pm

Seppalie wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:20 pm
I ran a MAC with M1 processor and also the FS19 with the resolution 2560x1440. The achieved refresh rates are better than with my iMac Pro. Since the FS19 was programmed for x86 architecture, the application is compiled via Rosetta 2. This seems to cause an error which crashes FS19 after a short time.
Reducing the image settings does not bring any improvement.
Thereupon I wrote to the Giants support and asked for a possible adaptation to the ARM architecture. Unfortunately I have to hear again and again that my Intel graphics is too weak. Which Intel graphics? Did I miss something?
Apparently, the support seems to have overslept the development at Apple and is constantly writing the same nonsense.
Since Apple will probably switch all their computers to ARM in the future, it can only be a matter of time until FS is adapted or set for MAC.
Probably Windows will run on the ARM processor before that.

I am still in good luck that Giants finds a capable head in the support department who gives me a reasonable and technically correct statement.

If one of you knows more, let me know!
Glad to hear you have reached out to Giants. I agree with you, this is the future of apple machines, expecting an iMac to be unveiled soon as well. Hopefully we will see a compromise somewhere soon via windows availability with the M1 or a stable version of the game with the new chip. Still impressed with such a baseline Mac mini to perform so well. This is really the only gaming I do on computers so the mini is seeming like a wonderful fit for my needs if this issue gets resolved.

jfalky
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by jfalky » Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:04 am

blue_painted wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:21 pm
I've resisted so far but ....

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=737969643487888

:D
Haha! When I started the thread, I was thinking of this video, knowing someone would shoot me down! :lol:

This is the only gaming I do, and run Mac for FCP, the Mac Mini seems to have incredible power for its price tag and seems to tick all the boxes! And when/if i ever go back to needing a PC I have all the peripherals and can run them alongside each other (but really, I am always going to go for the Mac!).

blue_painted
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: UK

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by blue_painted » Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:39 am

jfalky wrote:
Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:04 am
blue_painted wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:21 pm
I've resisted so far but ....

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=737969643487888

:D
Haha! When I started the thread, I was thinking of this video, knowing someone would shoot me down! :lol:

This is the only gaming I do, and run Mac for FCP, the Mac Mini seems to have incredible power for its price tag and seems to tick all the boxes! And when/if i ever go back to needing a PC I have all the peripherals and can run them alongside each other (but really, I am always going to go for the Mac!).
It was only a friendly Nerf gun shoot-down :D

Mind you, I'd be interested in your price on Mac Mini, anything new in the UK is over £1,000
Playing £300 PC with a £95 graphics card, £15 XBox controller and £65 SSD ... (and sometimes £200 laptop)

jfalky
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Mac M1 and FS19

Post by jfalky » Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:42 am

blue_painted wrote:
Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:39 am
jfalky wrote:
Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:04 am
blue_painted wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:21 pm
I've resisted so far but ....

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=737969643487888

:D
Haha! When I started the thread, I was thinking of this video, knowing someone would shoot me down! :lol:

This is the only gaming I do, and run Mac for FCP, the Mac Mini seems to have incredible power for its price tag and seems to tick all the boxes! And when/if i ever go back to needing a PC I have all the peripherals and can run them alongside each other (but really, I am always going to go for the Mac!).
It was only a friendly Nerf gun shoot-down :D

Mind you, I'd be interested in your price on Mac Mini, anything new in the UK is over £1,000
When I say good value, I mean it's cheaper than an Intel iMac specced to run it similarly, with the added choice of keyboard, mouse and monitor to my own liking! (also in the UK, I would be going for standard 512Gb and 16GB ram machine at £1099)

Post Reply