LUA Debug

Your forum for all discussions around Modding.
TheFlogger968

LUA Debug

Post by TheFlogger968 »

Hello,
I am a beginner in LUA and I have a problem with debugging.
I have this error:

Code: Select all

2023-03-15 18:49 Error: Running LUA method 'update'.
dataS/scripts/placeables/specializations/PlaceableObjectStorage.lua(528): attempt to compare number with boolean
But I don't know what is the number after ".lua".

If you have any tips to debug the lua code in FS22, it would help me a lot.

Thanks in advance,

Florian
Jason06

Re: LUA Debug

Post by Jason06 »

Hello Florian,

the number shows the line in the lua-code where the error occurs.

In this case it points to a lua script of the game itself ("dataS/scrtipts/..."), so you will have to find out which mod script triggers an in-game-function with improperly set variables: A used variable has to be a number type and is boolean or vice versa.

Regards,
Martin
aka Glowin / Glowins Modschmiede
MacBook 16'' 2019 (2,4 GHz Intel i9), Nimbus+ Controller, Realismus-Fan und Hobby-Scripter
TheFlogger968

Post by TheFlogger968 »

Jason06 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 10:16 am Hello Florian,

the number shows the line in the lua-code where the error occurs.

In this case it points to a lua script of the game itself ("dataS/scrtipts/..."), so you will have to find out which mod script triggers an in-game-function with improperly set variables: A used variable has to be a number type and is boolean or vice versa.

Regards,
Martin
Hello Martin,

Thank you for your answer.
That's what I had in mind.

Unfortunately, this line is empty.
I don't know if it's because the file given in the zip source game is incomplete or if the numbering of notepad++ is incomplete.

Thanks and Regards,
Florian
Jason06

Post by Jason06 »

Then this line isn't publicly available, which makes debugging more difficult.